Bright Ideas

shams

I am recently joining this forum but I have been using this site more than two years when there were no Q/A forum. I am just new in this field . I bought last year "Your Personal PLC Tutor - A Guide to Understanding PLCs" written by Phil Melore through internet. And I found the book very useful for beginners,for basic understanding. Then I joined a school in Toronto and learned PLC2,PLC5 and SLC500 and did practice on free software(Trial) of AB and leaned a lot through "Learning pit".
I am working in a co. on probation period. This co. welcomes "Bright Ideas" from emplyes. We are using AB plcs. Machines, we use, make a punch or embosing (say 2 inches of width) on a steel belt at different lengths then cut this belt from center of punched area so the pieces comes out of required lengths punched at both ends half of the width i.e. 1 inch each sides. I want to get a solution to use a kind of sensor or detector to read this punched area(corrugated)adjustable form 1/2" to 2" to read and send a signal to PLC to cut in the middle of the punched area (tolerence +/- 2.0 mm or less)I want to know,
1. which command( Basic/Compare/Math or any other command) should be used to achieve this accuracy.
2. which type of sensor or detector to be used to read corrugated area only not plane area
Thanks
Shams

Shams,

From your description, I envision the figure below where the Yellow is the final product.

3d43efa0716e3d41.gif

Is this so?

Your description indicates that this system use two Presses; a Punch-Press followed by a Shear-Press.

Unless you have a "Flying-Punch" (moves with the material for a short distance as it punches, then returns to the Home position), I assume that the material moves through the process in increments.