PLC Trainer using Click (need help troubleshooting)

asimowalk

Hello everyone. I'm extremely new to the world of PLCs so keep it in mind when I ask some questions. :ROFLMAO:

I'm trying to build a PLC trainer. I purchased everything I needed and am using Click PLCs, C0-00DD1-D with C0-00AC power supply. I've got six input buttons and a switch, six output indicator lights, an estop button (hardwired), and a power indicator connected to the 24v supply.

I was able to hook up everything, though very messily, and I feel like I've almost got it. All of the inputs are being registered. The only problem I have right now is there is always one output, the light connected to either Y5 or Y6 that doesn't turn on. The program I have in the PLC has all of the outputs turn on unconditionally as a test.

I'm using the wiring diagram found here: http://www.aboutplcs.com/click/hardware/cpu_modules/c0-00dd1-d.html

I've toyed around in that area of the diagram and found that the light that has the connection directly to +24v is the one that is able to turn on, but the other one doesn't.

Is there a wiring mistake I've made that would cause this? I found it to be very confusing wiring that part so 'm not all surprised there's a mistake here. I just can't seem to pick it out. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

The diagram shows the flexibility of the outputs. They may drive (sinking) a different voltage than that applied to +V (with common at C3/C4) which powers the internal logic of the output side of the CPU. Remember, the minus side of ALL your output power supplies must connect to C3 and C4.

In practice though you would typically use only one supply. Connect the minus side of a 24VDC power supply to C3 and C4. Connect the plus side to one end of your outout devices and to +V.

I removed the unnecessary connections and followed what you said but still no luck fixing the problem. The light connected to Y6 doesn't work.

Could it just be a defective unit?