Monitor PLC's for alarms

paulfisk

I have a series of Micrologix 1400 PLC's that are connected to our corporate network via VPN so I can access them all as if they were locally connected to our network.
The PLC's will have a register value set to a certain value if an alarm condition is present.

I want to be able to monitor the PLC's periodically (maybe every 15 minutes) and check if the Register value is in alarm state.

What is the best way to do this?
I thought that I may be able to write a small utility that contacts the PLC's and reads the register value to check if alarm is on but I am not sure how to do this.
I understand there is some sort of RSLinx SDK that might provide the means to do this? If so, is there sample code or documentation that shows how to establish a connection and read a registry value?

Maybe there is a better way to accomplish what I want to do?

Any comments or ideas would be greatly appreciated as I am a relative newbie to this stuff.

Paul

What's your budget ? ;)

More to the point, what do you want to have happen in the event of an alarm ?

You might just want to have an indicator appear in a VB form, or on an Excel spreadsheet.

Or you might want to log the event to an SQL database.

Or you might want to send an e-mail or text message to notify you of the event.

There are both big and small HMI software products to do this sort of thing. Some are hardware devices, others pure PC software.

If somebody told me "you have an hour to give me a dashboard showing the fault status of a bunch of MicroLogix 1400 controllers", I would get out my VMWare image of Inductive Automation's Ignition software and quickly build a server and some pages.

Others would get out Microsoft Excel and install an OPC/DDE client, or download AdvancedHMI (a Forum favorite), or grab a Red Lion DataStation Plus off the shelf (another Forum favorite).