Selection of SCADA system

gibson

Hello friends,
hi I'm a bit new to SCADA selection part, what are the points to be considered before selection of an SCADA.
and what could be the points one would require from the client for the selection of the same.
Thanks ..

I think you need to come up with a list of features that you want and assign them a priority. Then work out from there on which systems fit your need and which dont.

Obviously price is probably always gonna be the most important.

What's the SCADA's data going to be used for? (the purpose often defines the category of SCADA)
For instance, does the SCADA have to provide IRIG timing for Sequence of Event logging?
Or is HART diagnostics required for an asset management system to manage large numbers of
complex field devices?
Or . . .

What is being used now for an historian or alarm annunciation? Does expanding the existing system make sense?

What are the critical, can't-live-without functions justified by the expense?
What are the it-would-be-nice-to-have functions that might be justifiable (two columns on a sheet of paper, list 'em out, talk amongst yourselves)

How many points are involved? (scalability is not universal)
What's the topology? Where are the points located and clustered? Are RTU's or remote I/O needed to cluster data? How does the SCADA handle remote I/O? How much remote
monitoring is needed? What links (wireless, internet, intranet) are available for data collection?

What sampling rates are required ? 1mS? 1 second? 10 seconds? 1 minute?

What is the front end that wires to the field devices and how does the SCADA deal with that device?

Is the SCADA data repository a database or a file structure? Is the database an open database?
Who will be the librarian for a file structured data repository?