Crimson 3.0 - automatically map a set of display fields?

matt_eci

Hello all, I've been enjoying learning by lurking on this site and am hoping for some help going in the right direction.

Working with crimson 3.0, I am displaying many data variables from an engine controller that spits out data in a uniquely formatted string over serial. I'm new to the software and am picking up where another left off. The database has a pretty complete set of programs for parsing the string and passing variables to array tags, and those are displayed on a status screen (over 60 variables; 20 cylinder engine with sensors for temp, pressure, etc.)

Okay, so my task is to come up with an efficient strategy for duplicating these programs and display screens to report data for multiple different engines. I know enough now to be able to re-map all the tags and data primitives, but am hoping for a concise way to streamline or automate this process.

One idea I have is to group the tags, make a group id tag, and refer to the tag in all the data source fields I have. One data source is Unit1.C_EGT.C_EGT[4] and I want to replace <Unit1> with the value of a tag named unit1.unitid. I can't seem to get the syntax right. Help? If this works at least I can update all the data sources in one spot. Thanks!

Can you share your work? If allowed, you will have to zip it first to be accepted by the forum as an attachment to a post.

How to go about this will depend somewhat on how the data sources are divided...different devices on the same driver? Different areas of one controller?

In either case it is possible to set up the sources for your screen so that the fields reference array tags so you can use a pointer to look at different sets. The question then becomes how efficiently can you assign the data sources for those tags.