How to do if two words are not equal, then copy in directsoft?

zmarcoz

Dear all,

I am new to PLC. I have a HMI which constantly sending two words (desired stage) to a PLC location 'VA' (memory - NOT controlled by me). Somehow 'VA' will also change 'CA' (contact - can be temporary controlled for one scan). Since 'VA and CA' are controlled by HMI, I planned to create another two words 'B'. 'B' is the real words of my machine internal process state. 'B' will also be updated after machine does something.

I need to write the following to handle HMI issue
If VA!=CA, then B=VA. Otherwise B is unchanged.

What command I can use to do that in directsoft32?

Thanks

Last edited:
Your question is unclear. You speak of words sent from the HMI. Then you describe 'CA' as a contact. Is it a contact or a word?

Generally an HMI will not CONTINUOUSLY send a value. Usually it onlys ends it once at the time of entry by the operator. Could that be causing any confusion?

You mention creating 2 words 'B'. One name for two words?

Can you please restate your question using actual V memory register addresses (or C addresses if you are using a contact)? It would be much clearer and we can give you an example.

Thanks for your reply. I am sorry that I did not write well.

"Somehow 'VA' (memory register addresses) will also change 'CA' (contact - can be temporary controlled for one scan)"

Actually, a previous PLC guy wrote something that I do not well understand. 'VA' is a 2 bytes word, 'CA' is 16 bit binary number that represent the state. Since in the PLC program will read VA and then CA would update like

Read
VC200 ('reading signal from HMI', this have 16 bit, memory register addresses)
Then
if "C205" is on , do something (the internal value C205 will be changed)

What I want is to stop PLC keep reading from the memory register VC200 and keep writing on C205

THanks again