not all tags in RSLinx Enterprise

unsaint32

I am a beginner learning how to use Factorytalk View ME Studio. The tag browser shows the connected PLC's tags; I can see all the tags except that I see a word level tag for B3:0. I have multiple bit level instructions (B3:0/0, b3:0/1 and b3:0/2) in the PLC program. I cannot expand the B3:0 in the tag browser to use the bit level addresses. The fact that I see all other tags tells me that I had configured the RSLinx Enterprise correctly. I will attach some screen shots of the tag browser in the next reply posting.

I am going to try to browse offline tags next, but I first want to know how I can solve this online tag problem. Thanks.

As you can see in the posted pictures, the input addresses are expanded bit level addresses, but the internal coil address is a word level and not expandable.

input tag bit level.jpg b3 no bit level.jpg

Also, why there is no "offline" folder? The manual for FTV Studio states "For each RSLinx Enterprise shortcut in an application, an Offline and Online folder is displayed in the Tag Browser." Thanks.

The tag browser does not browse to individual bits within a word. You aren't doing anything wrong. Its just how it works. You would need to type the specific bit number you require.

Offline tag files must be specified in the Communications Setup portion of RSLinx Enterprise. If you don't specify the offline tag file then the Offline folder is not displayed in the Tag Browser window.

However, that feature is specific to the Logix 5000 family. The Offline Tag File feature does not support your MicroLogix.

OG

The tag browser does not browse to individual bits within a word. You aren't doing anything wrong. Its just how it works. You would need to type the specific bit number you require.

Hi OG, so I just need to type in the bit level address to change from {::[micrologix1100]B3:0} to {::[micrologix1100]B3:0/0} ?

Thank you so much OG and Bernie. I have another question if I may.