RS L5K function block vs ladder sbr

Nixalicious

So I am just starting on this whole PLC programming thing and I am a bit confused on the requirements for a function block subroutine work vs a ladder logic subroutine. I like function block a lot better so I do want to stick with it.

I guess my biggest question is do I have to put in a subroutine in my function or can I just use the tags and use the output bit from the routine in my other routines. Like I said I am just learning so if this doesn't make sense please let me know.

Doug

PS I did attach my routine so hopefully it helps.

HS Crane vs U2 06262013.jpg

Welcome to the Forum!
Treat any type of subroutine, either LAD, FB, STL, ST identically.
In order to be functional, any type of subroutine will have to be "called up" within the "Main" routine of the given program using the JSR instruction.
Just as any RSL5K configured tags, any Controller Scoped tags will be available to all the project's programs while Program Scoped tags will be available only to the respective program's routines.

I prefer Function Block on something that is a continuous process with few or no conditions ahead of it--things like PID loops, Scaling, Math functions, etc. I prefer ladder if there is a fairly complicated decision tree for the instruction--lots of IF, AND, OR, and so on.

Hi

I am with brstilson.

I would also add in motion, machine sequences, alarms, mapping I/O, for ladder and I often do my maths in structured Text.

But that's just me other will disagree and they will not be wrong or correct either
it is really up to the programmer.

Donnchadh

Welcome to the Forum!
Treat any type of subroutine, either LAD, FB, STL, ST identically.
In order to be functional, any type of subroutine will have to be "called up" within the "Main" routine of the given program using the JSR instruction.