Confused about OTL

jgauthier

Greetings! I am very new to PLC programming and ladder logic, but I have some years of experience programming.

I thought I understood OTL, and that latching an output sets the bit high until it's unlatched. But in a program I wrote that does not seem to be the case.

So, I simplified it down, and was able to reproduce it.

Here is the diagram:
ladderlogic.jpg

A,B,C are exclusive. They cannot be on at the same time.
When I turn "A" on, the motor is energized.
When I turn "B" on, the motor is energized with latch.
However, when I switch to "C" from "B" the motor stops.

I'm confused about why, because I thought the latch would hold.

For those who have used LogixPro 500, this simulation can be executed in the Silo exercise.

Thanks! I appreciate the help in understanding.

That's because you used both a OTE and OTL instructions. This duplicate assignment programming won't work correctly.

I understand your words, but not why it doesn't work.
If I put this into words I read this:
If A then output
If B then output latch
if C then do nothing.

It seems like it should be very linear logic to me. I don't follow why it's duplicate when none of the conditions can be true at the same time.

Thanks!

Because the OTE will evaluate to false if A isn't true. Both instructions are using the same address.

Okay. I guess I thought that if A wasn't true it wouldn't be evaluated at all.
But I guess outputs are evaluated even if the condition to get to them isn't met?

I don't know the enter workings of LogixPro 500, but in a real PLC that last branch would never be accepted. You need an output instruction.

Okay. I guess I thought that if A wasn't true it wouldn't be evaluated at all.
But I guess outputs are evaluated even if the condition to get to them isn't met?

Relative to Motor, your code evaluates as:
If A Then Motor=1 Else Motor=0 ;
If B Then Motor=1 ;