Compressor Staging

Luke007

Good Day Everyone

I need your help, I have a 6 stage compressor for cooling a building. I need to program logic for a Micrologix 1500 to have the compressors start with the lowest hours compressor first, then start second lowest hours next and so on up to six compressors. The compressors turn on each stage by time. For example if one stage turns on when there is a cooling call if the temperature does not return to set point within 20 mins then another stage turns on, then 20 mins later another stage turns on and so on. There is no hour meters, there is just a set of contacts that close when a compressor stage is on and the time is recorded in the PLC using timers and counters. And to challenge you, once set point is reached the compressors will shutdown the same sequence they started up. Then when the next call for cool comes the compressor sequence will start with the lowest hours first again. I have some experience programming PLC;s but I need help starting off. Thank you.

Luke

There's lots of examples on here for doing what you are suggesting, have you tried using the search facility using carefully chosen keywords ?

But the main reason for my reply is that I don't believe this type of algorithm is necessarily the correct approach.

What is the goal, to "balance" the run hours of your compressor motors?

That means they will all require maintenance, or fail, at the same time.

IMHO a better approach is to have an algorithm which does balance the usage, but only after an offset has been achieved.

What I would propose is that you fire up your motors in the same sequence until xxx hours have been logged on the first motor, and then instigate your run-hours balancing.

The net result is that scheduled maintenance is distributed, or wear and tear failures will not occur simultaneously.