PLC Output Dropouts during troubleshooting efforts

FSEIPEL

I'm new to Logix 5000. We have a slave rack of 1756 relay output cards driving our motors (120VAC motor control). I was trying to troubleshoot a completely unrelated problem, to see if a level transmitter had power, and simply inserted our digital voltmeter between two 24 VDC terminals (DVM set to DC voltage), one terminal being DIN rail (ground to cabinet) the other being 24 V, and all the outputs cycled out when I contacted probe to terminals, then back on. This caused ALL our motors to shut down while plant was running! This happened to our electrician a week before on the other side of the cabinet, he did NOT short anything. What might be a plausible explanation for this? I thought then it might be a loose wire but he was 4 feet away & it happened right when he made contact w/terminal, any chance alternately that voltmeter has something wrong with it?

Also, not sure if it's related, but nobody was in the cabinet a couple days ago, and the slave rack just dropped out. That time was different. The slave rack I/O cards, all displayed blinking red OK. The Ethernet card said good comms. I know very little about this system and none of my coworkers are too familiar with it either. I finally figured out I needed to reset the power supply on the slave rack. Then the cards communicated. I called the rack without the CPU the 'slave rack', not sure if that's how Rockwell terms it. Is this problem related? Note when it has the 'DVM trip', the OK lamps didn't blink red, or if they did, they didn't stay blinking. This is a running plant but I need to service the instruments & understand this.

How is your slave/remote I/O powered [The power Supply for the rack]? Is it 24VDC or 120VAC? If it’s 24VDC, what type of power supply?

Follow-up