PLC needed for 0 to -24Vdc analog input

I'm a PLC newbie. I have an eddy current device that measures the "runout" of a shaft. It has an output of
0 to -24Vdc. I will set it at a nominal -8 to -9 Vdc. As I measure the shaft runout, the voltage output from the eddy current device will vary by no more than 200 mV.

I need a PLC (and small HMI panel) to read this single analog input. It will capture the minimum voltage, the maximum voltage, subtract the two to give a Total Incidated Runout (TIR) of the shaft. Want to spend less than $1000. The problem I am having is finding an AI that won't get fried when it sees the -24Vdc during the setup of my shaft runout test.

Thanks,
VE

Greetings and welcome to the forum.

Most likely you are going to have to use a signal conditioner.

This link http://www.dataforth.com/device.view.aspx?deviceid=178 is for a signal conditioner that converts a +/-40Volt input to a +/-10V input.

You are probably going to have some difficulty finding a PLC with analog and an HMI and a signal conditioner for under $1000 so you need to start rethinking the budget unless you buy used off e-bay. You can probably find a solution for under $1500. Nematron makes some single line inexpensive display panels that run a couple of hundred dollars each. An AB Micrologix 1100 is a small inexpensive PLC and the software for the 1100 is free. The ML1100 has a built in analog input but it is only 10 bit resolution, so most likely you will have to use one of the analog expansion modules which will add more expense. Redlion controls has an HMI that can take analog inputs allowing you to do this without a PLC at all.

Last edited:
I doubt you will fry anything... it will just be out of range, I send 24VDC to a MicroLogix 1100 all the time and they have built in analog

I may be able to help with the purchase but a few more details are needed (other power)

http://www.plccable.com/micrologix-1100/

A signal conditioner as TConnolly is also a great option