PLC/Drives File Management System Advice Needed

jj28west

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello PLCS nation,

I am a newbie hoping you can point me in the right direction in starting my journey.

I work for a company that has several manufacturing facility division.

In my plant we do continuous processing of metals like rolling mills, strand annealing, etc

We have a typical layout where a manufacturing process cell is in a specific area

For example....we have a rolling mill work center designated by a number code from our enterprise system for each specific roiling mill and within that roiling mill we have stations separated by stand # or takeup spooler which obviously have different panels and drives, etc

Just like any other company we have several OEM PLCs such as Siemens and AB and GE and some Automation Direct along with Parker Drives, Siemens Drives, Gefran Drives, etc

What I am trying to do is improve the current management of the PLC/Drive changes that are made. Currently the 3rd Party Integrators leave a usb flash drive in the panel which has the latest changes.

What I am looking for is a file management system that is able to accommodate the various PLC software and drive OEMS, etc that is able to incrementally backup "x" amount of rev changes.

I was thinking sharepoint but I dont know of the file types can be managed this way.

In time I hope to be the main point of contact for Integration Controls but I never see myself not working with 3rd Party integrators

I do not have anything listed in weighted priority as considerations but cost and security will definitely be up there.

Thanks for reading!

I would highly recommend utilizing Git. If you are using Windows, you can use GitExtensions to make your life easier when using Git.