Best way to reprogram SLC 5/03 in 96 motorhome.

Marc Nach

Total newbie here - please forgive my ignorance!
I have a 1996 Monaco coach with the SLC 5/03 processor, 3 input modules and three output modules, 2 of them remotely mounted. It would seem that I have lost the program in the processor memory. I show inputs but no outputs are generated in response. I have checked voltages and everything else I can check to no avail. Everything seems correct: no fuses blown, voltages are good, inputs registering correctly. The comm lights on the output modules blink at about 1hz constantly but that's it. Fault light on the SLC is flashing quickly, DH485 flashing green at 1hz, Batt light is on solid red, all others off. I replaced the battery and the light went off, but the next day it came back on. I had soldered the leads from the old battery to the new one and I think I got it too hot, so I will be replacing it again right away. The voltage of the old battery was 2.83 volts, which doesn't seem to be low enough to cause memory loss in my opinion, but what do I know?! I replaced the old battery within the 30 minutes time recommended to avoid memory loss, but it was probably gone already.
I have a printout of the ladder logic program that came with the coach and I started to write it into RSLogix MicroStarter Lite, which is going very well, but I stopped to make sure I'm not wasting my time.