Click Plc Logic for Valve control

misterhyde

Hello,

Its my first time using a PLC and I'm trying to create a program for solenoid valves that will control hydrogen gas flow through a series of dryer tanks. What I basically need is a few timers to open and close the different valves at set time intervals. e.g. valve starts open, 2 hour timer closes the valve and resets, 2 hours later it opens again and timer resets etc.

I have light bulbs wired into my plc to simulate the solenoid valves while I test the Ladder Logic. I want the bulb at Y1 to turn on/off every T1 interval but I can't get the timer to reset and repeat.

So far I have:

Rung 1: NC X1 with timer and output T1
Parallel: NO C1

Rung 2:NC X1 with output C1

Rung 3: NO T1, NO Y1, NC C1, with output Y1

Rung 4: reset Y1

Rung 5: End

Thank you

Have you tried removing the input to see of the timer will reset?

Not sure what is before your timer in the logic but let it go from 'high to low' and see if it resets

Thank you [[geniusintraining]] for your help and thank you [[milldrone]] for your Click PLC Ladder Logic. It works perfectly :nodi: . I'll just add a few timers and adjust the flip-flop time intervals for the different valves.

I've never programmed more than a C++ calculator before so this was pretty much what I looked like before your help o_O so thank you again.

If you have a moment to explain the steps of the ladder logic and what they are doing, I would be interested to learn for future use.

Actually, I have one more question.

If I want to run 3 dryer tanks in stead of 2, is there any way to program a timer that would open a valve for 2 hours and close it for 4 hours and reset back to 2 hours?

Some valves will be open for 4 hours and closed for only 2 hours while others will be closed for 4 hours and only open for 2 hours.