PFLX 70 fault "EC missing 20-HIM-X6 file."

unsaint32

I am a rookie maintenance guy who uses some PLC skills.

We have a plastic pipe coiling machine that uses a puller motor, which is controlled by Powerflex 70 EC. It ran all night. After we loaded different size pipe, the drive kept faulting out when we tried to re-start the machine.

On RSLogix 5000, I brought up the module properties window. An error message came up "Cannot open the drive page; Missing 20-HIM-x6 file." It did not allow me to connect to the drive. The message was also asking for a certain revision number for the file. I checked the HIM version on the screen, and it matched the message's file number. Another message said I should create a database.

So I clicked on "Change" in the Module Definition box. Then I saw the "Create Databse" button at the bottom left of the menu. So, I clicked on it. Then after few minutes, nothing exploded (again, I'm a newbie) and the issue went away.

Although the instruction told me to create Database, I should not have done that because I really do not have the authority to do that in our plant. I would have been in deep sxxx if it didn't work.

I looked everywhere on the internet but cannot find any info on what "creating database" means in PFLX70. Please explain what that is and why something like that would happen without any component change.

Thanks.

That particular PC apparently did not have a drive HIM database file matching that firmware version, so the software warned you. I do believe that you can connect to the drive and the HIM as two separate devices (true with Devicenet, Drive Explorer, others...), and based on your wording, I think the error was because you got a newer HIM, not due to any difference in the VFD.