analog input or connect to switch

ddouglass

Beginner here, selecting new PLC system that has the capability to stop everything if the air pressure drops below some point. My dilema is whether to put an analog signal from a pressure sensor into the PLC, or have a pressure switch. One way requres adjusting the program if needed, the other way requires adjsting the pressure switch. No big deal either way, but since I'm new to PLC's I don't know the pros/cons on that end of the system.
Help!
Thank you!

If the switch is detecting a safety situation then attach the air switch directly to safety equipment as needed. It would still be appropriate to bring some type of contact to the PLC so that it may perform some housekeeping (possibly informing an operator via a display).

If this is just a 'shut the machine down because it won't be able to perform it's job anymore' situation then by all means attach the switch to the PLC letting it perform an orderly shutdown, if that is possible with low air.

Whether or not the setpoint of the switch is adjusted manually or via a link with a PLC depends solely on the switch design. If it is for a safety situation the keep setting the sensing point a manual operation. Depending on how critical sensing this drop in pressure is for personnel safety you may need more than one for redundancy and a fail safe system.

Either type of sensor can handle the situation you've described.

In general, pressure switches cost less than analog pressure transmitters. On the PLC side, discrete (On/Off type) inputs cost less per point than analog inputs. Programming for the discrete sensor will probably be simpler than programming for the analog sensor. If you're starting from scratch, and have no other need for analog pressure data, use the pressure switch.

anolog input