RSLogix Version Clarification

lam2363

Hello All,

I am new to the RSLogix 5000 software. I have a 1769-L24ER-QBFC1B I am trying to connect to it with RSLogix 5000 version 19.01. I have been trying to find out if this is a new enough version to program this controller but have been unsuccessful. I have used BootP and given it an IP address and can see it in RSLinx. Can some one please clarify one way or the other or am I missing something completely?

Welcome to the Forum !

That particular controller is a member of the newest "5370 Series" of CompactLogix controllers, which were introduced with v20 firmware and also support v21 and v23.

RSLogix 5000 software always requires a major revision match; you need v19 to program v19 controllers, v20 to program v20 controllers, and so on.

You can install multiple versions on the same PC (subject to OS compatibility) and you are eligible (usually) to download any of the versions from the current release back to v10. Firmware earlier than v10 need to be requested direct from RA.

So the sort answer is that you need v20, v21, or v23 of the RSLogix 5000 (renamed Studio 5000 in v21) to work with that controller.

So the sort answer is that you need v20, v21, or v23 of the RSLogix 5000 (renamed Studio 5000 in v21) to work with that controller.

Hey Ken, I know that version 23 is just version 21.03 repackaged as a major revision but is it actually released as version 23 yet? I don't see that available on the RA website.

Be careful with this too.
v21 comes in 2 flavours.
v21.00 is the base level
v21.03 comes with security alterations, and you cannot downgrade, or talk to v21

You're looking at a coincidence of numbering.

Version 23 is not "20.03".

As I understand it, RA chose to skip Version 22 in the numbering sequence and go to Version 23 as the next Major Revision. If anyone was recently at RSTechED and can verify from the "What's New in Logix 5000" seminar, I'd appreciate it.