AutoCAD Electrical...?

shoelesscraig

I know this is a little off topic, but I figured it would be a good place to ask..

I am used to doing all of my schematics in AutoCAD LT (all the old employer would buy). I would consider myself decent at it, but no where near expert level (maybe barely intermediate). I did manage to create dozens of my own blocks, some of which were fairly fancy, but past that, I just know enough to get what I need done!

At my new job, we have AutoCAD Electrical, which seems a million times better. However, it is a LOT different and more in depth and I would love some training on it in person. Does anyone know of a good place to find training for it? I would really prefer some "in person" live training versus an online class if possible.

I have been looking on the net for such a thing, but I thought someone here may be able to speak personally about something they know about.

Yes, I think you will need some training. I have a few years experience now with Acad electrical and it is a massive program. I can only really say now that after 2 years of reasonably steady work I know the software. I can do pretty much anything I need to do with it including building blocks, setting up templates, setting up a semi network so everyone is sharing the same blocks, running reports etc etc. My boss wouldn't fork out for the training but it really would have paid off in the long run looking back. I would recommend you take the official training from ACAD, these guys really know how to work the software.