Allen-Bradley Micrologix model selection

jr rider

I’m a complete PLC neophyte, and I’m trying to implement some automation for the first time. My system is very basic. I want to control two pneumatic actuators, with two position sensors on each, fired by two solenoid valves respectively, with a PLC. I’d like the position sensors to be my inputs and the valves to be my outputs. (For example: actuator 1 is now in open position, open valve 2...). I’m trying to make the whole system 24VDC.

I’m set on using an Allen-Bradley Micrologix (just from what has been used at my company and the free-ish software), but not sure which one. I don’t have many inputs and outputs, I may add more in the future but not many (an E-stop, etc.). Do you guys have any suggestions/guidance? It’s been impossible getting technical support from AB without already being a customer. And like I said I'm totally new to this.

Hello,
Well just from the "Freeish" software comment you have narrowed your search dramatically. (unless you are referring to using your company's software as being free to you)

Non the less I would say go for the Micrologix1100.
You can download a free version of RSLogix500 that will work with this controller and it has Ethernet & Serial capability for comms.

Also I would suggest using interposing relays between your PLC output and your solenoids.

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1763-um001_-en-p.pdf

BCS

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

The first thing I would do is to write down your sequence of events.
Then look at the document and write down your I/O.
Add 10-20% spares for the future.
Select your controller.

E-STOP is REQUIRED for all automation.

Here's a start.
1. turn power on.
2. press the power on pb. the safety relay energizes and turns on the master control relay (MCR).
3. the mcr relay closes and supplies power to the input and outputs.
4. input 0 (power on) is energized.