64 bit counter

kreacher

Hi,

I have a question. Does anyone have any ideea on how to create a counter that can go above 32767? I have seen in Siemens PLC that the high limit of counters is 32767 but i need a much much bigger number.

How can i do this?

Thank you,

Kreach

Most all PLC's will have an ADD function to a DINT that you can count to at least once per scan. Some like the GE-IP PLC/PAC can Add multiple times per scan. If you need to count very fast get a High Speed Counter for your processor.

Last edited:
I think you need a 32 bit timer, not 64. a 16 bit word maxes out at 32767, with a 32 bit double word you can go up to 2,147,483,647 (signed).

Unfortunately I have no experience with the PLC platform you are using.

Hope this helps,
Dave

Create a new memory location in a Datablock (or a M address) and define it as 'DINT'

Then feed this address into a 'Add_DI' block from the 'Integer function' section.

The other input will need to be a 1 and the output will be the address you created.

AddDint.PNG

Source code for a 32 bit counter using the same interface as SFB0 from the standard library:

Code:
FUNCTION_BLOCK FB 1
TITLE =
VERSION : 0.1

VAR_INPUT
  CU : BOOL ;    
  R : BOOL ;    
  PV : DINT ;    
END_VAR
VAR_OUTPUT
  QQ : BOOL ;    
  CV : DINT ;    
END_VAR
VAR
  bEdgeStore : BOOL ;    
  diCount : DINT ;    
END_VAR
BEGIN
NETWORK
TITLE =

A     #CU; 
      FP    #bEdgeStore; 
      JCN   res; 

L     #diCount; 
      L     L#1; 
      +D    ; 
      JP    pos; 
      JU    res; 
pos:  T     #diCount; 
res:  A     #R; 
      JCN   nors; 
      L     L#0; 
      T     #diCount; 
nors: L     #diCount; 
      T     #CV; 
      L     #PV; 
      >=D   ; 
      =     #QQ; 

END_FUNCTION_BLOCK

Why is everyone mentioning Timers? I need a Counter...
And unfortunately it must be bigger, at least 62 bits... this is what was asked of me.