slc 500 Ethernet options

mcorban

Hello folks, looking for a bit of guidance.
A little background.
I have a machine with AB slc 5/05 cpu.
It is networked with a Hirschmann switch RS2-5TX which also connects to the AB Panelview 1000.
I have downloaded the program via the serial port already, but want to backup the Panelview.
I have tried to connect using a laptop (corporate) with the aid of some online articles.
I got the ip address of the slc from the program.
What way are these normally setup.
I have RS linx on the laptop (rev 2.5), and have a cardbus notebook adapter in case i cannot change the ip address of the laptop.
I did attempt it and it showed the ip address with a question mark and a red x through it. I think this may have been down to myself.
I also do not have the ip address for the hmi or the switch.
Hoping ye can help
Mike

Last edited:
I have no experience working with panelviews, but this is simply an unknown IP address problem at the moment. When I don't know the IP address of a device, my first step is to use Wireshark to try and see ARP packets coming from it. I like to power cycle unknown components shortly after starting the packet capture with Wireshark. You also have a good starting point with the IP address of the SLC and its subnet mask. Using the IP and subnet mask from the SLC, you can narrow down a likely IP range to use something like Angry IP Scanner to find the panelview IP and connect to it with RSLinx.

can you please post pictures??

Usually in rslinx I set the ethernet/IP driver and choose my ethernet card as connoection device (no ip shown on attached pic cause im not near any plc)

this way it usually gives you any allen bradley ip in your computer ip range

meaning that if your computer is 192.168.2.xxx (any last 3 numbers between 1 to 255) your range is actually these any numbers between 1 to 255

when searching for other devices, I use a software called IP scanner, it will give me any active IP in my range

linx.jpg