PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A

PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/index.php)
-   LIVE PLC Questions And Answers (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   I can find plc in RSlinx lite but when I open Logix RSWho there is nothing there (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=123757)

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 10:47 AM

I can find plc in RSlinx lite but when I open Logix RSWho there is nothing there
 
I can find plc in RSlinx lite but when I open Logix RSWho there is nothing there.
The driver I added in RSlinx doesnt even show up in Logix RSWho.

Trying to connect via ethernet using ethernet/ip Driver. I can see everything in RSlinx no problem but when I try to connect in Logix with RSWho nothing comes up.

This is a new computer with a new install of the software if that helps.

drbitboy February 13th, 2020 11:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrockSamson (Post 840113)
I can find plc in RSlinx lite but when I open Logix RSWho there is nothing there.
The driver I added in RSlinx doesnt even show up in Logix RSWho.

Trying to connect via ethernet using ethernet/ip Driver. I can see everything in RSlinx no problem but when I try to connect in Logix with RSWho nothing comes up.

This is a new computer with a new install of the software if that helps.

not that I have a clue about this, but what happens if you remove the device from RSWho in RSLinx, and then refresh or let autobrowse find it again?

Also, is it possible the RSWho window in RSLinx has Autobrowse checked, but the RSWho in Logix does not? Although I would assume that RSWho in Logix runs at least a manual Refresh when it is opened?

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 11:26 AM

Autobrowse is running in both. I have removed and restarted everything and still works the same.

In logix who active it shows the "linx ethernet gateway" driver that pops up when starting the program but thats it. No drivers that i create in RSlinx

harryting February 13th, 2020 11:26 AM

Well, something doesn't add up. RSWho is RSLinx' default view so what exactly do you mean by "I can find plc in RSLinx"?

RSWho screen "remembers" past connection in Ethernet/IP driver and all the devices added in Ethernet Device driver even if the devices are no longer there. A couple of screenshots would help us understand your situation better.

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 11:30 AM

Sorry if it is confusing, my mistake.

I can find the devices fine in rslinx and RSWho. But when I try to find them in Who Active in RSlogix nothing shows up.

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 11:37 AM

The driver from linx actually shows up for a brief second when i first open rslogix and open who active. But then it just disapears from the list before I can even click on anything.

Operaghost February 13th, 2020 11:47 AM

Which versions of Logix and RSLinx are you using?

OG

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 12:06 PM

Linx 2.43.01.23
Logix 500 6.30.00
Logix 5000 20.1 is the newest i have loaded

Operaghost February 13th, 2020 12:15 PM

Sounds like the Linx DLL file isn't registering correctly with Windows. I am going to assume Windows 7 here......If you are using Windows 10 I would encourage an update to a newer version of RSLinx. It is a free download.

Go to Start ==> Programs ==> Accessories ==> Command Prompt

In the Command Prompt window type the following for 32-bit Windows:
regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSLinx\linxcomm.dll"

or

In the Command Prompt window type the following for 64-bit Windows:
regsvr32 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockwell Software\RSLinx\linxcomm.dll"

Press Enter after this. Close that window, and then I would restart the PC.

OG

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 12:37 PM

Yes i am using windows 10

Operaghost February 13th, 2020 12:50 PM

I don't believe Windows 10 support was added to RSLinx until version 3.90. That's not to say it wouldn't work, but I know I had a lot of weird issues getting old versions to work properly.

I think your versions of Logix are probably going to work, but seeing as how Linx is a free upgrade, I would look at getting that up to date. Version 2.43 was released in 2011 so things have changed a little since then.

I guess I should have asked, did this work before and then suddenly stop working? Or, has it never worked on this computer?

OG

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 12:52 PM

Thanks for the help. No this is a new computer so its the first time im trying to connect

alive15 February 13th, 2020 01:03 PM

Have you tried leaving RS Linx open, then opening your plc program? I've had a weird scenario where I exited RS Linx, and then I could not view any connections in RS Who. But when I left RS-Linx window open, then went to my program, I was able to see the connection.

BrockSamson February 13th, 2020 01:07 PM

yes that is actually what i have been doing

kk6mrp February 13th, 2020 05:14 PM

Every time I have seen this problem, closing and re-opening Studio 5000 allows me to see the PLC.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.

.