You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 21st, 2018, 07:17 AM   #1
treellama
Member
United States

treellama is offline
 
treellama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 38
Linx printers

I've been told I need to set up communications between a few Linx 7300 printers and our PLC over Ethernet. The printers were provided by our customer. Anybody do this before?

I found a document for their "RPC" protocol online, but it's not complete. For example, they don't list a port to use to connect a socket. I scanned for open ports and found only one, and I was able to connect a socket to it, but I don't get any response when I try to send a message. I've been working in visual studio for now, I figure if I can make that work then I can port it to TiaPortal

I'm hoping someone here has fought with these before and either has some more documentation than I could google, or at least tell me it's impossible.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2018, 09:58 AM   #2
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,627
I have used zebra printers ZT410 with Allen Bradley PLCs under EIP without using sockets.
Look up for a thread that I started.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 07:47 AM   #3
Jeebs
Member
Belgium

Jeebs is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leuven
Posts: 1,039
The RCI-08 000 communication manual, literally the first google result, tells you the port is 29043 in chapter 1.4.2

The entire comms protocol is pretty straight forward. Better to start on it in TIA cuz the data handling is very different, you'll spend enough time figuring that part out even after you get it to work in VS.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 03:09 PM   #4
treellama
Member
United States

treellama is offline
 
treellama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 38
Thanks Jeebs.

I swear I googled and googled and never found that particular version of the manual. 29043 is the correct port, it responds as expected now. I think I'll take your advice, as soon as I get the PLC in I'll do the rest of my testing in TiaPortal.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded FactoryTalk View to 8.2 . Worked fine yesterday . Cannot start RS Linx today Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 August 17th, 2016 10:05 AM
sst pb3 clx communication via rs linx abubakkar LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 12th, 2014 03:05 AM
Linx GATEWAY Question w/Excel brettdawnj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 September 23rd, 2007 07:23 PM
blue screen with rs linx g.robert LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 24th, 2006 08:46 PM
WIntelligent Linx DDE communications rrangaprasad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 10th, 2005 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


.