Crimson 3 u16 array to u32

ERCfarcontrol

Hi, all. I have some experience with Modbus... somehow I always get lucky. After reading, fiddling, and searching for most of the day, I'm stumped. I'm using a Graphite communicating over modbus to read error history from a controller. The error history is stored in 8 consecutive registers that MUST ALL be read in one message. The first 6 registers are individual u16 data values. The last 2 registers make up a single u32 data value. I've successfully setup a data tag array to read all individual registers, but cannot figure out how to combine the last 2 registers into a u32. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Try multiplying the last register by 65536 and adding it to the second-to-the-last register.

Or vice-versa, if the High/Low Word order is different.

With Crimson there are probably several different ways to do this.

One that comes to mind is to make a tag whose data source is something like:

HMI_Int[6]*65536+HMI_Int[7]

I happened to have a 3.0 app open with those array tags available...I have not tested this to see if it works...

Can you share your file? If not, can you share some screenshots?

EDIT: I did a test in the emulator in 3.0 and what I suggested does work, but you do need to ensure that the tags are set to integer and on the format tab, set them to unsigned.

Snippet of emulator screenshot:

crimson_u32.png

Last edited:
When you create that tag, you can just set it up as "General" and type the expression directly into the field.

If you set up the tag as "Complex", then you preface the expression with "return" and end it with a semicolon.

I do love the Crimson emulator !

Crimson_U32_TagDef.PNG Crimson_U32.PNG

I should really just defer to Paul when it's a Crimson question.

It's like "OkiePC: Battle Angel".

It didn't work... and then I swapped the tags in the expression as Ken Mentioned. The device transmits low word first. Works fantabulous!