You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 4th, 2017, 11:21 AM   #1
lesmar96
Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 124
so Machine basic MSG3 function block

in SoMachine Basic v 1.5 What is use of the MSG3 function block? Is it simply to monitor the status of the ethernet communication? Is the MSG3.E bit report an error in the comm? The problem I am working with a program that uses this bit to report an error, but it does not turn on even when I have the ethernet cables disconnected between the two plcs communicating over Modbus TCP/IP.

Please adsvise on the proper use of this functio block. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2017, 01:21 AM   #2
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 850
I think msg3 is just a name that was given to the block. Can you tell us the object type of the block
  Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2017, 08:01 AM   #3
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 933
msg3 block is old messaging block for ethernet
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 08:53 AM   #4
lesmar96
Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lare View Post
msg3 block is old messaging block for ethernet
yes, this is a messaging block for ethernet, but what does is do? Ethernet comm will work without it. Is it simply to monitor? Seems to refresh the communication every time the NO contact ahead of it becomes true.

I first learned about this block in one of the templates on somachine v.1. titled xSample_ModubsTCP_Wireless Push Button ReadStatus. This sample program uses this MSG3 block.

Any more advice would be helpful.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 09:26 AM   #5
lesmar96
Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 124
does any one have more suggestions?

Maybe this is a function rarely used or a better way to do it?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 10:12 AM   #6
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 933
If you have only HMI or Scada connected to PLC you don't need msg block at all 99% of time.

MSG blocks are used for communication to other PLCs or field devices. MSG block is used on older twido controllers. M221 have different methods and blocks for communications but also MSG block is possible to use.
It is used communicate and check status of communication after querys are sended.
msg1 = port1, msg2 = port2 and msg3 = ethernet (port3)

http://www2.schneider-electric.com/r...uide_File3.PDF

Last edited by Lare; October 12th, 2017 at 10:14 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2017, 09:53 AM   #7
lesmar96
Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 124
My program is communication between to plcs. This is actually a program I did not build so I was trying to figure out the details of it. Looks like %SW65 could be used to monitor the ethernet status.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIFO function block in CoDeSys 2.3 MaReKA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 18th, 2016 02:25 PM
Using Timers within a Function Block in SCADAPack Workbench Quinquiplica LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 2nd, 2016 09:49 AM
Function Block Memory Allocation in Omron CJ1M PLC scrambled LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 1st, 2015 09:50 PM
CX-Programmer: FIFO inside a function block HJTRBO LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 8th, 2013 04:19 AM
how to assign a data block to function block usman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 13th, 2009 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


.