You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 13th, 2022, 11:29 AM   #1
adrianedelen
Member
United States

adrianedelen is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: USA
Posts: 8
ET200sp -> Fanuc R30ib/r2000ib communication

I have an et200SP with the 1512SP F-1 cpu that we need to talk to a Fanuc robot.


The bot has a R30ib controller and also has the Ethernet IP Adapter package.


getting the profinet package for the bot is not really an option, and using an AB plc is also not an option.


Is there any way to communicate IO between the robot and plc directly?


We have a Prosoft EIP-PND gateway, which so far I have gotten to work with TIA but cannot get to communicate with the robot.


thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2022, 02:26 PM   #2
mk42
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianedelen View Post
I have an et200SP with the 1512SP F-1 cpu that we need to talk to a Fanuc robot.


The bot has a R30ib controller and also has the Ethernet IP Adapter package.


getting the profinet package for the bot is not really an option, and using an AB plc is also not an option.


Is there any way to communicate IO between the robot and plc directly?


We have a Prosoft EIP-PND gateway, which so far I have gotten to work with TIA but cannot get to communicate with the robot.


thanks.



Is the gateway an EIP scanner or adapter? I assume adapter to adapter communication isn't possible.


Siemens has some EIP blocks you can use. See this example for the EIP Scanner. As a warning, it only supports unicast messaging. Multicast must be able to be disabled on the robot side.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2022, 10:56 PM   #3
RVaughan
Member
United States

RVaughan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 93
I think mk42 meant to link to An example like this
on the Siemens site. That one is for a Scanner,
this one is for adapter.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2022, 06:01 AM   #4
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianedelen View Post
I have an et200SP with the 1512SP F-1 cpu that we need to talk to a Fanuc robot.


The bot has a R30ib controller and also has the Ethernet IP Adapter package.


getting the profinet package for the bot is not really an option, and using an AB plc is also not an option.


Is there any way to communicate IO between the robot and plc directly?


We have a Prosoft EIP-PND gateway, which so far I have gotten to work with TIA but cannot get to communicate with the robot.


thanks.
IIRC, can't the robot's EIP package be set as either adapter or scanner? With that Prosoft gateway, you'll want to make/try the robot the scanner.
__________________
I don't always test my code but when I do, I do it in production.

Last edited by jstolaruk; May 14th, 2022 at 06:04 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2022, 06:19 AM   #5
mk42
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVaughan View Post
I think mk42 meant to link to An example like this
on the Siemens site. That one is for a Scanner,
this one is for adapter.

I absolutely did, oops! Thanks for covering for me
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Fanuc Nano Serial Communication? madmanex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 25th, 2005 06:24 PM
GE Fanuc 9030 optical communication Eduardo Pelegrin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 1st, 2005 11:54 AM
GE FANUC 90 series PLC Communication Jing Zhi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 4th, 2004 09:17 AM
Ge fanuc CMM 311 communication problem?? abhilashponoli LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 25th, 2004 04:00 PM
GE fanuc CMM 311 communication problem??? abhilashponoli LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 23rd, 2004 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.


.