Ladder Lines per hour

Hi all,

This is my first time posting a question here, but I have been browsing the forums for a couple of years now, and there are a lot of smart people here, so I'm sure this will be easy for you guys :D

Here is my question:

In general, how would you evaluate the time it takes to program a PLC from having the control philosophy in hand (no program) until comissionning is completed?

Notes:
My current project is a 60 line (aprox.) program on a S7/1200 for HVAC-R control purposes.

I am aware that every project is different, and that unexpected problems might pop up and add to the total time. I dont expect an exact figure, just a ballpark one.

I will also have to program an HMI for the same project, could you also ballpark a (separate) programming time for this?

Thanks a lot!

I usually estimate my projects starting with the I/O count. I usually give 1 hour per discrete point and 2 hours per analog point. From there, i factor the estimate up or down depending on the complexity of the program. That gives me a fairly good estimate.

I like your method edwardt, but does that include program documentation such as a functional description of the program, or do you assume that the mechanical guys give that to you?

How do you estimate your field time for commissioning?

That was assuming that the functional description is being created by someone else and handed to you.

That really depends on the scope and what field commissioning means for that particular project. For me, sometime it means just dropping in the PLC and HMI programs and stepping through a sign-off sheet of the functional description. Other times it means do that plus setting up instruments, performing loop check-outs, instrumentation calibrations, motor rotation checks, etc. Again though, each of these functions is based on a multiplier times the number of I/O points.