You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old July 28th, 2018, 07:13 AM   #1
APQ-Service
United States

Micro820 Connection Problems

Hello everyone, I'm working on a project with an Allen-Bradley Micro820 PLC and PV800 HMI. This is my first time using A-B controllers, and I'm having trouble connecting and downloading my ladder diagram.

Thus far, my full program is 13 rungs, and builds successfully. I've also written a test program that's just one input triggering one output, which also builds successfully. However, I haven't been able to download either program.

When I plug into my PLC with a Cat5 patch cable, my PC can see the PLC in both RSLinx Classic (using Ethernet/IP Driver) and in Connected Components Workbench. It successfully detects the PLC IP address, which changes each time I power cycle the PLC, matching the default DHCP IP setting for these PLCs. However, nothing happens when I press the "Connect" button. When I try going through Device-Download, the first time after I connect it says the build is successful, and subsequent times says the controller is up to date, but neither program appears to be working. This happens whether I configure the driver for Windows default or my laptop's Ethernet card.

Software information:
-Allen-Bradley Connected Components Workbench Version 10.01.00 - Standard Edition
-Allen-Bradley RSLinx Classic Revision 3.81.00 CPR 9 SR 8.1
-Windows 7 Service Pack 1 operating system

All Allen-Bradley software was installed from Rockwell Automation CD part # 9328-SO001L-EN-C - March 2017.