PC to PLC Protocol

TheRixta

Hi,
I am new to this site, it looks very helpful. I have plenty of experience with VB/C and have written complete appications for high speed robotic systems. My problem is they want me to use GE Fanuc PLC control on a system instead of the NIDAQ or GPIB cards I am familiar with. I would like some advise on how my VB language sends instructions to the PLC ie, 9030 or 9070. I am familiar with Versapro ans LM90 to program the PLC but I need to know what is the protocol for instructing the PLC from my PC application. Do I load multiple projects on the PLC then run them when required or load a new project based on the recipes conditions?

Rick.

Depending on the model, 90-30 and 90-70 PLCs can communicate serially via Modbus (RTU), CCM, or SNP protocols or just ASCII data. You can purchase any of the protocol drivers (or write your own) and include them in your VB aplication.

The PLC will only accept one program at a time, but the program can consist of multiple subroutine files which can be conditionally called from the main program.

If your programs contain a repeatable sequence of moves, but the target distances for each move vary from program to program, you can download recipes as needed or you can save recipe data in the PLC and apply it as needed.

I recently completed a project where the PLC controlled positioning the backstop for a guillotine cutter. There were several distinct sequences such as trimming all four sides, cutting a block into two smaller blocks, cutting a block into four smaller blocks. The PLC was organized around subroutines for each of these trim plans.

There could also be different sizes within each of the trim plans, so each subroutine also included a recipe table of the sizes encountered in actual prodution.

If you can post the specifics of you application I'm sure we can answer more of your questions.

I'll answer your questions in reverse order.