You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 20th, 2007, 03:25 AM   #16
pattara
Member
Thailand

pattara is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: kk
Posts: 2
I have the same problem in 128KB MMC.Could you give 128KB image to me?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 07:00 AM   #17
zova
Member
Russian Federation

zova is offline
 
zova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia, Komi
Posts: 116
Maybe it will be helpfull for some of us...
Attached Files
File Type: zip IMB 2MB.zip (15.8 KB, 1967 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2007, 09:14 PM   #18
pattara
Member
Thailand

pattara is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: kk
Posts: 2
thak for that
  Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2007, 11:51 PM   #19
bls726
Member
Russian Federation

bls726 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ufa
Posts: 1
Good day!
I much need your help!
I have Siemens Simatic MMC 2Mb 6es7953-8LL11-0AA0.
I her(its) has formatted in FAT.
I much need the image for card by skim program s7imgrd.exe.
Images + winhex which there is here do not work.
I in hopeless position.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2007, 11:38 AM   #20
Plc_User
Member
Belgium

Plc_User is offline
 
Plc_User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 317
Mmc 64k

I have an orignal Siemens MMC 64K, to what size can I make it up to and with which programm?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 04:08 AM   #21
sun221
Member
United States

sun221 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: china
Posts: 1
help

Quote:
Originally Posted by tischer
As you have got program for unprotecting S7 pwd, here is algorithm how is the pwd protected. http://rapidshare.de/files/18271865/crypt_MMC.zip.html

Petr
Anyone download this file, can send it to me? thanks.
sun221@gmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 11:35 AM   #22
EKBist
Member
Russian Federation

EKBist is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: City
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by bls726
Images + winhex which there is here do not work.
I in hopeless position.
see http://************/viewtopic.php?t=5841
Quote:
With specified above a site http://plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=21591&highlight=mmc+password I took an image and filled in it through winhex 14.1
These versions of images were not picked up by the Spanish program...
I have overcome a problem by own strength.
The image used 2 mb from the above-stated site.

The image has appeared clumsy.
It also has helped me. I have started to compare in 16-HEX a code.
It was found out, that sites not deleted on MMC-cards to contain in the end of a file in a range of 00F4C000 addresses - 00F4C0A0.
Three bytes being that range should coincide with three bytes in a range 000001C0 - 000001F0.
If to be more objective can be and more than 3 bytes, but I think in each of chances it is possible to find dependence.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2007, 09:34 AM   #23
capoccione
Member
Iceland

capoccione is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: asd
Posts: 1
Porca troia come cazzo si formatta!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 04:40 AM   #24
ZX9R
Member
United Kingdom

ZX9R is offline
 
ZX9R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 5
S7 MMC Cards

Hi

Has anyone yet, successfully, managed to get a standard MMC card and use it in an S7 CPU??

I ask, cos Siemens really know how to charge and I cannot see the justification for a list price of US$450, for a 2MB MMC card, when I can get a 2GB one for about US$50.

How can Siemens justify this, just becuse they have a few bits of information programmed into the headers of their supplied MMC cards?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 06:01 AM   #25
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,341
Everyone that has fiddled with this consistently state that you cannot use a regular MMC card as a Siemens MMC card.

About the excessive pricing, then I think you are partially correct.
Only partially, because a standard MMC card isnt intended for industrial use. Especially temperature ratings are different.
There are 3rd party suppliers of Siemens-compatible MMC cards (Deltalogic and Helmholz I think). They are slightly less expensive than the Siemens cards. Only consumer pressure (= buying at the competition) can make Siemens reduce its prices.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 07:37 AM   #26
ZX9R
Member
United Kingdom

ZX9R is offline
 
ZX9R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP
Quote:
Everyone that has fiddled with this consistently state that you cannot use a regular MMC card as a Siemens MMC card.
Well I read the posts from about 2006 and wondered if wnything had progressed since then. Obviously not significantly!

Quote:
About the excessive pricing, then I think you are partially correct.
Only partially, because a standard MMC card isnt intended for industrial use. Especially temperature ratings are different.
Well I see your point about the "industrialised" issue, however I don't think the temperature rating should be an issue, as most PLC installations are in a control room intended for occasional human occupation also. I would not expect to see a temperature swing of a wide amount.

Imagine a digital camera, which is intended for mobility and therefore could be (and is) often used in low and high temperature environments. This can and does use a standard off the shelf 2GB MMC card for about $50!
Kingston specify the temperature range from 0°C to 60°C for their standard versions. Would this not be sufficient formost PLC application??


Quote:
There are 3rd party suppliers of Siemens-compatible MMC cards (Deltalogic and Helmholz I think). They are slightly less expensive than the Siemens cards.
Well thank you for the info, I wasn't aware of these suppliers until now, appreciate that.

Quote:
Only consumer pressure (= buying at the competition) can make Siemens reduce its prices.

Or someone figure out how to get around this by:

1) Reverse engineered firmware - anyone brave enough for this?
2) Finding an MMC card supplier willing to add the right info to the CID etc..
3) Finding an MMC card supplier willing to supply MMC cards without the OTP area with the CID in it being programmed, and obtaining / writing software to program this area..

Personally I would have thought that option 2 would be the easiest especially a supplier from the far East, as the birthplace of mass copying electronics.

Formatting the cards is already documented on this very forum.
Best regards.....
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 08:28 AM   #27
zova
Member
Russian Federation

zova is offline
 
zova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia, Komi
Posts: 116
As soon I know VIPA PLCs are working with normal MMC.

Due to globalisation, be sure all MMCs come from the same location. The difference in prices is brand tax, but well protected.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 08:57 AM   #28
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX9R
Kingston specify the temperature range from 0°C to 60°C for their standard versions. Would this not be sufficient formost PLC application??
This is speculative. It is possible that the industrial cards are good up to 80°, but to be sure they are only specced to 60°. In the industry everything is at least one notch further on the safe side when compared to consumer-grade products.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 10:58 AM   #29
ZX9R
Member
United Kingdom

ZX9R is offline
 
ZX9R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP
This is speculative. It is possible that the industrial cards are good up to 80°, but to be sure they are only specced to 60°. In the industry everything is at least one notch further on the safe side when compared to consumer-grade products.
http://www.memoryc.com/products/desc...ard/index.html

This IS consumer a grade product...for a mobile phone of all things!!

I don't mean to be picky, but what is the temperature spec on a Siemens MMC card?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 12:02 PM   #30
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,341
I dont know what the temperature specs are for a Siemens MMC. But I still believe they are better than just any consumer grade card.
Even if the specs turns out to be similar, then "guaranteed specs" in consumer grade product and in an industrial product are two different things.
Another way to put it: I have had a lot of regular MMC cards, CF cards and USB sticks fail. I have not yet experienced a Siemens MMC card failure.

I am sure that the cards are overpriced for what you get. But I wouldnt consider a product that isnt industrially graded as an alternative.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S7 Mmc Card Erwin Nußbaum LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 December 5th, 2014 05:20 AM
S7 300 Mmc marsu1821 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 15th, 2010 06:43 AM
Siemens S5 and S7 Dual Masters for Profibus daveswerld LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 December 16th, 2008 02:15 AM
how to start work with CPU 315C-2DP and MMC RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 23rd, 2005 01:41 PM
S7 Mmc reg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 18th, 2005 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


.