You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 13th, 2020, 02:40 AM   #16
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by theColonel26 View Post
I did get the 4K display though.

You don't need Siemens TIA portal then?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2020, 12:27 PM   #17
BrianD
Member
United States

BrianD is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2
We just received Dell Latitude 5424 Rugged with Windows 10. It seems to be good except I can't put version 21 Studio 5000 on it.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2020, 02:02 PM   #18
Jim3846
Member
United States

Jim3846 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 49
I want a laptop where I don't have to use electrical tape to cover the docking station port on bottom of laptop. I lost one laptop when I forgot to tape that shorting dock port piece of ****. Frustrating to say the least at metal shaving bits at construction sites.

The serial issue is always going to be there just buy a USB to DB9 interface and get all the gender bender connectors. I have a db9 to RJ45 connector where I can select the pins I want with a pin pusher tool

I need the VMware software on a laptop for old software, so use same laptop for both.

I need 2 usb ports, 1 ethernet hard port, 1 ethernet wireless.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2020, 02:42 PM   #19
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,247
I 2nd the suggestion for Lenovo P15.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2020, 02:35 PM   #20
tarrant79
Supporting Member
United States

tarrant79 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: washington
Posts: 23
$1000 Acer Nitro 5

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Computer...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==


I'm looking at this acer, im only looking at spending around 1k. The company is super cheap and my personal system just died, so I'll probably just buy this myself. Its got 2xM2drive+1x2.5inSSD drive slots. Enet, 3usb, 1usb3.1. Someone, may say...oh what about horrible AB licensing: I got the AB CMSTICK8GB, I just need to click the USB into my computer once every 7 days and I can run and gun in grace mode for another 7 days.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2020, 03:55 PM   #21
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by rankhornjp View Post
I just got a new Dell Precision 7740. I had a Dell Precision M4600 for about 7 years before this one and it handled rough environments just fine. The new one has 3 standard USB ports and 2 USB-c thunderbolt ports, HDMI and DisplayPort, Ethernet Port, and headphone out.

I didn't want Win10, yet, so I ordered it with Ubuntu and run everything in VMs (i even turned my old laptop into a VM so I wouldn't lose anything). 64GB ram, i7 (6 cores), 256gb OS drive, 1TB 2nd for VMs. I paid $2400. If I get another 7 years from it, its less than $10/week.
I've had a Dell M4800 for the last 5 years or so (typing on it now). You have to be a little careful on which processor you would get, but mine supports 32GB, I still have a SSD and the DVD drive can be turned into a second SSD, which I have done.

The only downside has been that the aluminum body is HEAVY and thick compared to the disposable garbage that most laptops are today.

I would go Dell again without hesitation, but for all I know they are using the same cheap plastic parts everyone else is in this day and age.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2020, 06:14 PM   #22
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarrant79 View Post
[url]The company is super cheap and my personal system just died, so I'll probably just buy this myself.
I wouldn't use anything personal at a site or for a company.

If your company wont give you tools (laptop) for the job at least make them pay insurance to replace yours when it breaks.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2020, 07:28 PM   #23
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryting View Post
I 2nd the suggestion for Lenovo P15.
On a 2nd look, I probably go with the T15 instead. Less bulky and uses USB-C charger. The downside is the RAM is soldered onto the motherboard.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2020, 09:15 PM   #24
AutomationTechBrian
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

AutomationTechBrian is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Cloud, MN
Posts: 414
My old Lenovo T530 (3rd generation i7) is on the right, the new P15 (10th generation i9) is on the left. They are almost exactly the same size. One physical difference, I like the built-in number pad on the P15. However, the old laptop is so nicely setup for everything I do that I'm not sure when I'll transition to using the new one. It's always a big time commitment getting all the non-VM programs loaded.
Attached Images
File Type: png Laptops.png (917.7 KB, 26 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2020, 11:21 PM   #25
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutomationTechBrian View Post
My old Lenovo T530 (3rd generation i7) is on the right, the new P15 (10th generation i9) is on the left. They are almost exactly the same size. One physical difference, I like the built-in number pad on the P15. However, the old laptop is so nicely setup for everything I do that I'm not sure when I'll transition to using the new one. It's always a big time commitment getting all the non-VM programs loaded.
just clone your old laptop drive on to the new laptop drive. Why make work for yourself. Windows will install all the drivers you need.

I did that with my new P15.
__________________
SkyCad is by far the Best ECAD Schematic Software I have used.


Fact my "Fun Facts" are never fun
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Laptop to AB SLC/02/04 jmunsen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 31st, 2010 06:49 PM
Eaton HMI to AB Micrologix 1400 communications whatever LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 5th, 2010 11:50 PM
AB PLC 2/30 upgrade suggestions needed Cogen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 14th, 2010 10:01 PM
Transfer Data From Siemens PLC to AB PLC Danocane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 7th, 2007 07:29 AM
AB journey Tim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 December 18th, 2003 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.


.