You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread November 19th, 2019, 11:21 AM   #1
Cam_T
Member
United Kingdom

Cam_T is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 1
RSLogix Micro Error: Address bust be specified to the word level!

Hi, All!

I am very new to PLCs and I am currently writing ladder logic for an Allen bradley MLX1200.

I have a number of inputs which i have addressed in the format: I:1.0/1 etc. which should equate to I:Slot.Word/Terminal.
I have checked the SLC 500 Instruction Set document which has informed me that this format should be structured correctly however I still receive the error message "ERROR: Address must be specified to the word level!"

Can anyone see where I am going wrong?

For reference Slot 1 is a 4-Channel Thermocouple Input Module (1762-IT4).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

C
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 19th, 2019, 11:26 AM   #2
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,450
I:1.0/1 refers to an individual bit; an address like this would be used on a contact or coil where you want to address a single on/off state.

Since you have a thermocouple card, you are dealing with analog signals and want to look at the entire word value. So, you'd omit the bit number and just use I:1.0 (assuming this is the correct address for the analog value). You'd also have to use it in a proper instruction that is expecting a word value, such as a comparison operator (EQU, GRT, etc).
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 19th, 2019, 11:29 AM   #3
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,445
https://literature.rockwellautomatio...m002_-en-p.pdf
As the datamap is a little weird for analog modules.

*Ignore this, it has been a while*
Secondly, (I don't have a SLC/Micro handy) but I believe you would reference that is I:1/1 (you don't include the .0 iirc)

Edit: Yeah, you can enter it either way, I just checked, but like John mentioned, you are probably looking to use the whole word.

Last edited by Dravik; November 19th, 2019 at 11:31 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert RSLogix Micro project to RSlogix 5000 Michael C LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 6th, 2017 11:45 PM
RSLogix Micro Starter Lite fkh009@gmail.com LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 November 4th, 2016 11:35 AM
Rslogix 5 help. How to know if a word is being used. mudcrutch89 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 April 22nd, 2014 02:09 PM
RSLogix Micro Starter Lite nampolu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 9th, 2014 07:22 PM
Lift problem Ladyscarlet99 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 February 16th, 2004 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


.