You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 12th, 2019, 01:48 PM   #1
JAK
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JAK is offline
 
JAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California
Posts: 41
Alarms for PV800

Hello all,
Back in PanelBuilder 32 I used to be able to assign a word as an alarm trigger and then address each bit individually in the alarm configuration instead of having to address each bit individually in the alarm configurator like CCW seems to be requesting. Am I missing something? Is it possible to assign an integer as the trigger and use bit detection or am I going to have to type in a tag for all 50 alarms?

Thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 02:35 PM   #2
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,884
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=87109

The above thread may help you out.
Regards,
__________________
Garry
https://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 03:10 PM   #3
JAK
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JAK is offline
 
JAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California
Posts: 41
Thanks for the heads-up. That would be useful if I wanted to create a custom alarm history screen. I'm just a little disappointed that somewhere along the way it has become impossible for a user to define one or two INTs or DINTs as alarm triggers and then use the bits in the alarm configuration to use as individual alarms. I just didn't want to clutter up my tag DB with a long list of boolean addresses. Or as Inductive Automation says "Single Integer - Alarm on Each Bit"
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 03:38 PM   #4
JAK
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JAK is offline
 
JAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California
Posts: 41
Just to close this topic, I called Rockwell and this is the compromise for using a PV800 or PVc. The alarm configuration does not allow you to parse an integer address to pull out individual bits like you can with FactoryTalk. If I wanted to save on the tagging then you could set up a driver to feed values to a register, as mentioned in the link above, but that goes against the philosophy of keeping it simple. Guess I better get typing.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PanelView Plus Alarms beethoven_ii LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 December 1st, 2018 02:11 AM
Factory talk view alarms Rehu09 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 19th, 2018 03:57 AM
Help with RSView32 Alarms sparkytex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 5th, 2017 04:22 PM
VijeoCitect Custom Alarms filter shrirampendse LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 10th, 2012 07:07 AM
Wincc basic alarms Bobbeh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 6th, 2011 04:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


.