You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 9th, 2020, 11:40 AM   #1
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,285
FMS software

Hello, is anyone here familiar with a software called FMS? I searched online but couldn't find anything that made sense. It is connected to an Omron CH200X PLC as an OI. It is pretty old stuff.....running on Windows XP SP3.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2020, 02:08 PM   #2
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,469
I have seen "FMS" used in the Oil and Gas industry. What service is this in?
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2020, 03:04 PM   #3
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,234
Maybe this is it
http://www.amada.co.uk/software/details/11/fms-series
  Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2020, 08:08 AM   #4
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by parky View Post
Nah, what I have is wayyyyyy more ancient than this. Lol
  Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2020, 08:10 AM   #5
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
I have seen "FMS" used in the Oil and Gas industry. What service is this in?
It is an interface for a Hitachi Seiki rail guided vehicle, for loading tombstones onto machine tool centers. It is nothing more than an executable that is used as an OI for the CH200X.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2020, 08:37 AM   #6
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,234
FMS usually stands for Flexible Manufacturing System so it could just be someone has written an application to interface with the Omron. I have come across this type of thing before and the name is often just a name given at that time. It sounds to me that it may well be one of these and is not a standard product, I came across a board with a 8080 microprocessor talking to digital I/O on a Square D PLC and 232 communication to a robot. turned out to be a one-off parallel data to 232 converter. some guy had written an application on the micro board as an interface. however, we could find no trace of the guy who supplied the unit.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2020, 12:39 PM   #7
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by parky View Post
FMS usually stands for Flexible Manufacturing System so it could just be someone has written an application to interface with the Omron. I have come across this type of thing before and the name is often just a name given at that time. It sounds to me that it may well be one of these and is not a standard product, I came across a board with a 8080 microprocessor talking to digital I/O on a Square D PLC and 232 communication to a robot. turned out to be a one-off parallel data to 232 converter. some guy had written an application on the micro board as an interface. however, we could find no trace of the guy who supplied the unit.
In a nutshell, I am over a barrel, right? Lol
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 05:05 AM   #8
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,234
It sure sounds like this could be your situation. I have come across a number of interfaces written as a one-off, sometimes if it is a bespoke application on a pc then it is possible that a copy of the code is on the pc. I have found this to be the case in a number of occasions. I.E. "C", "Pascal" or "Basic" installed to commission the system or source files for reference. you may be lucky but it will depend on what you intend to do i.e. upgrade or just port it to updated hardware.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2020, 12:05 PM   #9
mbartoli
Member
United States

mbartoli is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Canaveral, FL
Posts: 191
First Monkey Syndrome? That's what the folks around here call my software for our Facilities Monitoring System!
__________________
Mark

Those who say it cannot be done shouldn't interrupt the people doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2020, 02:43 AM   #10
Horhes
Member
United States

Horhes is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Matawan
Posts: 7
I definitely heard about FMS, even related to XP, but that was in the context of the Fast Mail Service and this is hardly what you are talking about.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2020, 02:51 AM   #11
collinsd70
Member
United Kingdom

collinsd70 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Swindon
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceilingwalker View Post
Hello, is anyone here familiar with a software called FMS? I searched online but couldn't find anything that made sense. It is connected to an Omron CH200X PLC as an OI. It is pretty old stuff.....running on Windows XP SP3.
What industry are you referring to?

In terms of Pharmaceutical- FMS can stand for "Facility Monitoring System", this is used to measure the quality of air in the graded areas (particle counts PPM).


Regards

Daniel
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2020, 10:24 AM   #12
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,983
Given that the application is basically a CNC machine tool, FMS in that context is a somewhat generic term for Flexible Manufacturing Systems. This company actually uses it in their product name, but if you search on the term itself, there are lots of products that use that term genetically for CNC machining cell software systems.
https://intelitek.com/adv-foundation...ng-system-fms/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 10 Rockwell Software Psymon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 62 April 15th, 2019 08:58 PM
Studio 5000 v21.xxx d_tech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 14th, 2016 11:24 AM
Logix 5000 install problem smiller LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 26th, 2015 10:47 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 11:04 PM
difference between allen bradlly and seimense PLCs satish_moon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 70 January 10th, 2009 10:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.


.