You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3rd, 2016, 02:13 PM   #1
Amonomen
Member
United States

Amonomen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Question Control Logix Redundancy and Produced and Consumed Tags

Hello and thank you for taking the time to view my post!

First of all, I've attached an image as reference.

What I am trying to accomplish is exchanging data between two control logix processors via produced and consumed tags. Simple right? Not this time.

What I have is two systems in question. The first is a simple, single processor setup with an ENBT ethernet card. The other, however, is an enhanced redundancy system with two processor/communication racks and two I/O racks.

Some more specifics regarding each system:
  • Panel A (from reference image)
  • 17 slot rack
  • Slot 0 - 1756-L71 Rev. 20.13
  • Slot 1 - ENBT/A Rev. 6.3
  • Panel B (from reference image)
  • Identical 7 slot racks
  • Slot 0 - 1756-L71 Rev.20.55
  • Slot 1 - RM2/A Rev. 20.004
  • Slot 2 - EN2TR/C Rev. 10.007
  • Slot 3 - EN2T/D Rev 10.6
Each rack in panel B is connected via an internal panel network (192.168.1.0/24) via the EN2TR. The two identical racks are connected via fiber between the RM2 modules. Also, the identical racks are both connected to the plant scada network (172.16.0.0/16) via the EN2T. There is also a panelview plus connected to the ETAP.

Everything within Panel B functions as intended. The problem is when trying to produce and consume tags on the plant network.

Configuration Details
The PLC in Panel A is configured to consume data from the PLC in Panel B. I've configured a produced tag in the PLC in Panel B, set it to "Allow Unicast Consumer Connections". I've added the PLC in Panel B to the project on the PLC in Panel A. I've configured the module with no rack connection and no time sync. All is well at this point. The problem arises when I attempt to consume that produced tag in Panel A. I get an error in PLC A from PLC B saying "(Code 16#000c) Service Request Error: Invalid mode or state for service request."

I read the documentation for enhanced redundancy and found a system configured with enhanced redundancy disallows unicast consumption but will still allow unicast production. As a test, I disabled unicast on both PLC A and PLC B to no avail.

If I've left anything out, please let me know and I will provide more info as needed.

Thank!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PLCHelp.jpg (36.6 KB, 59 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2016, 08:33 PM   #2
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is online now
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,489
Welcome to the Forum!

Have you assigned the same IP address to the two EN2TR modules? These need to be set the same for Produce/Consume to work properly with Enhanced Redundancy systems.

It is possible to set them differently and the system will still SYNC, so it's not so obvious to spot.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2016, 04:05 PM   #3
Amonomen
Member
United States

Amonomen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Short answer, yes. They were configured the same.

Here's some more info.

Within the redundant system:
Rack 1
-EN2TR IP: Configured - 192.168.1.2; Actual - 192.168.1.2
-EN2T IP: Configured - 172.16.6.2; Actual - 172.16.6.2

Rack 2
-EN2TR IP: Configured - 192.168.1.2; Actual - 192.168.1.3
-EN2T IP: Configured - 172.16.6.2; Actual - 172.16.6.3

I believe that is intended as the redundancy module will assign the secondary controller the ip of the primary + 1.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2016, 04:12 PM   #4
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,893
Stupid question: Why not just use MSG?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2016, 04:19 PM   #5
Amonomen
Member
United States

Amonomen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryting View Post
Stupid question: Why not just use MSG?
I disagree, that is a great question. Ultimately, I did use a MSG instruction because it was part of a critical process at the plant. I'm seeking to expand my arsenal of knowledge for later projects so I'm not caught off guard in the future.

I prefer produced/consumed over msg. My reason is simple: It's harder for someone that doesn't know what they're doing to alter and potentially break a connection using produced/consumed than MSG simply because produced/consumed can't be changed while online.

I've only personally designed and implemented three plant wide SCADA systems. There may be other pros and cons to both that I am not aware of.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


.