You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 27th, 2016, 06:05 PM   #1
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,862
Registering an EDS file

I'm running RSLinx Classic Lite on an XP virtual machine. RSLinx can see the 1768ENBT/A but shows it as an unrecognized device. When I try to upload the EDS file from the ENBT/A module I get a prompt to enter a user name and password. The error message I get when I enter my XP user name and password appears to come from the EDS Wizard. Is there a default user name and password for the tool?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2016, 02:13 AM   #2
jeffsnyder
Member
United States

jeffsnyder is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 20
Is it asking you to login to factorytalk or windows?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2016, 04:26 AM   #3
chavak
Member
Malaysia

chavak is offline
 
chavak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 631
Not sure, but you may try admin for both
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2016, 07:35 AM   #4
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,862
Quote:
Is it asking you to login to factorytalk or windows?
It appears to be asking me to login to the EDS wizard.
Quote:
Not sure, but you may try admin for both
Didn't help.

Originally XP was set to automatically log in as administrator without a password. After I added a password for the administrator login and used the administrator name and password to login to the EDS wizard, I started getting a message that I had insufficient privilege to run EDS wizard. The same message referred me to RSLinx online help for information about minimum privilege levels required, but searching online help using the keyword "EDS" turned up nothing useful.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2016, 09:20 AM   #5
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,862
I just tried an older version of RSHWare that I copied from another XP machine, but I get the same results when I ran it on the XP virtual machine.

Here is a screen grab of what I'm dealing with.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EDS_Login.JPG (34.8 KB, 180 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2016, 05:42 AM   #6
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,862
On the chance that nobody was paying attention when I originally posted this on Friday afternoon before a holiday weekend I'm bumping this back to the top. I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling RSLinx but that didn't help. The login screen popped up during the RSLinx installation. If I hit "OK" with the fields blank it popped back up with a note that blank fields weren't permitted. When I entered the Windows XP administrator password I got the "insufficient privilege" notice. When I closed the popup the RSLinx installation continued.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2016, 08:17 AM   #7
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 677
Rockwell's technote 518888 says:

Quote:
518888 | Date Created: 12/18/2012 | Last Updated: 03/18/2016
Access Level: TechConnect Email this page Print Subscribe to Updates
Question

When I open EDS Wizard in RSNetworx, Log On to Register EDS file window pops up and requires User name, Password and Domain.

Environment

RSNetWorx for ControlNet
RSNetWorx for DeviceNet
RSNetWorx for EtherNet/IP
EDS Hardware Installation Tool

Answer

You must log in as Administrator to use RSNetWorx.

If you log in as Non-Administrator user account, you are required to log in as Administrator when EDS Wizard starts
.

So, it appears to be forcing you to login as administrator...
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2016, 08:35 AM   #8
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,862
I am logged in as an administrator on the XP virtual machine, but not as an administrator on the host system (Windows 7). The virtual machine doesn't show up when I open VMware while logged in to the administrator account on the host machine. I'll have to work out how to share it between accounts in VMware.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2016, 11:47 AM   #9
david_exper
Member
Mexico

david_exper is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durango
Posts: 3
Hi Steve Bailey

Did you find any solution to this problem?

i'm getting the same problem

Regards,
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2016, 03:01 PM   #10
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,862
I was involved in a project where I needed both RSLogix5000 and RSView. The project was an upgrade of an existing machine. My license for RSLogix5000 (Version 19) was sufficient for the firmware level of the PLC, but I had to get a new license (Version 8.20)for the PanelView. I was trying to install RSView Studio on the same XP virtual machine as my existing RSLogix license. The installation of RSView must have overwritten something that RSLogix was using for EDS registration.
I resolved the issue by using a Windows 7 machine for RSView Studio.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2016, 04:21 PM   #11
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Argentina
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bailey View Post
The installation of RSView must have overwritten something that RSLogix was using for EDS registration.
Probably it was Factory Talk Service Platform. By default FactoryTalk Services Platform should install automatically during the installation of software like RSLogix, RSLinx, FTV, RSNetworx. So you need to check the compatibility matrix to know if any old software could be affected when you want to test new software or new versions of your software.
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2016, 06:51 PM   #12
david_exper
Member
Mexico

david_exper is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durango
Posts: 3
Thank you, Steve Bailey and nhatsen

i will give it a try and let you know

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2016, 11:40 AM   #13
david_exper
Member
Mexico

david_exper is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durango
Posts: 3
It's working now

Apparently it was something wrong with XP OS, i installed FTV on windows 7 and it works great!

Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2017, 02:16 PM   #14
Martindag
Member
Canada

Martindag is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: quebec
Posts: 192
Wow good to know about this, im having the EXACT same issues with my VMware on win xp with all the same problem and already spoke to Rockwell Tech support 3 times.

I guess i will simply try a Windows 7 and give it a try
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLinx EDS file issue AndyMtr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 June 9th, 2016 02:28 PM
How to switch drivers lbeh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 11th, 2014 02:11 PM
factory talk : converting MER file to APA aminto89 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 19th, 2014 04:25 AM
Devicenet EDS file setup Teglaco LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 November 28th, 2013 04:38 PM
EDS file for Devicenet card (ALTIVAR 71) Pedrito LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 14th, 2009 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.


.