Looking at Boolean Arrays - Logix5000

TrashKetchum

Im pretty new to software and could use some advice please,

I am trying to fire an output if any alarms on my software are on.

I have a boolean array of ALARMS[416]. If any of these are 1 i need my output to also be 1.

If anyone has any advice, thanks in advance

I take it you are considering filling in the ellipsis in summat like the code below and thinking, there are better uses of your time?
Code:
      ALARMS[0]      ANYALARM
---+-----] [- ---+------( )-----------
   |             |
   |  ALARMS[1]  |
   +-----] [-----+
   |             |
   |  ALARMS[2]  |
   +-----] [-----+
[SIZE=5][B]...[/B][/SIZE]
   |             |
   | ALARMS[414] |
   +-----] [-----+
   |             |
   | ALARMS[415] |
   +-----] [-----+

I can think of a few approaches

• Do it in a loop
    • unlatch the output bit
    • initialize a COUNTER to 0 for indirect addressing
    • loop over the bits
      • start with the LBL instruction; also
        • OR two branches
          • LES COUNTER 416
          • XIO OUTPUT_BIT
          • so the loop ends when either the counter reaches 416, or any bit is 1
      • latch the output bit if ALARMS[counter] is 1
      • increment the COUNTER
      • jump back to the LBL
  • Whoops, Logix5000 has a FOR loop, and I have spent too much time with RSLogix Lite, so scratch that first suggestion
  • Look for a Logix5000 instruction that examines multiple bits at once
    • I can't imagine you are the first to come up against this; maybe there is already a built-in instruction that can examine all bits in an array in one shot. In fact, I would do this first.
    • Again, since you are not likely the first, maybe there is an AOI somewhere on this site
    • Somehow converting (COP or CPS) that boolean array into an equivalent array of 13 32-bit DINTs, and comparing each of those 13 DINTs to 0 (NEQ DINT_ALRM[0] 0), or bitwise ORing them together into a single DINT and comparing that result to 0.