You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 27th, 2016, 05:48 AM   #1
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
Logix Designer - Failed to Create Module Profile

Hi PLC programmers,

I got a problem regarding my installation of Logix Designer/Logix5K. Here's the situation...

a) Initially installed Studio 5000 without problem.
b) I needed to open a program from Logix v20.1, installed RSLogix5k v20.1. After installing v20.1, RSLogix was corrupted and won't open program.
c) Reinstalled entire Logix Software.
d) Was able to open and convert program from Logix5k v20.1 to Logix Designer v24 but this annoying error occured on v24 (See attached "EN2T")... "Failed to Create Module Profile".

All of a sudden, the module (1756-EN2T) I created with working v24 is no longer usable. Now, even when I create a new project, add a module with "Select Module Type", the list of available modules has been trimmed down to what it normally has (see attached "AB_Modtype"). Kept on re-installing entire Logix 3 times, clearing the registry with CCleaner and even deleted installation folder for Rockwell software but the problem is never gone. I even downloaded AOP for EN2T and installed it but to no avail.

Now I'm lost and dumbfounded that uninstalling and reinstalling isn't working. By the way the OS I'm using is "Windows 7 Enterprise". I appreciate all the help I could get. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
Andrei K.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EN2T_ModuleProf_Problem.jpg (34.4 KB, 104 views)
File Type: png AB_Modtype.png (37.2 KB, 82 views)

Last edited by Popo Karimu; May 27th, 2016 at 05:52 AM. Reason: additional information
  Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2016, 09:15 PM   #2
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
up!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2016, 09:31 PM   #3
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
up!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 01:33 AM   #4
Kev77
Member
United States

Kev77 is offline
 
Kev77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaverton, Or
Posts: 406
Can you see it in RS Linx? Have you tried to install the latest add on profile? You can download it from the AB support site.

Last edited by Kev77; May 30th, 2016 at 01:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 10:03 AM   #5
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev77 View Post
Can you see it in RS Linx? Have you tried to install the latest add on profile? You can download it from the AB support site.
Yes, 1756-EN2T is very visible with RSLinx like normal. I already downloaded the add on profile, installed it but nothing happened. I suspect the problem is already "registry" level. Unfortunately, I haven't found any solution for it on the internet.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 10:18 AM   #6
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 720
Did you go straight from V20.1 to V24?

V20.1 had compatibility issues with V20.3, so V20.4 was brought out.

I would uninstall V24, then install V20.4 (download from Rockwell) and then re-install V24. That may fix it...........

I know that V20 is still RSLogix5000 and V24 is Studio5000, but essentially is the same program.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 10:28 AM   #7
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,622
another straw at which to grasp ...

this is a minor excerpt from Knowledgebase Article 32507 ... I found this reference by searching for Error 8609-0 (see the popup on your posted screen shot) ...

Quote:
Delete the modules from I/O tree and recreate them. It would be a good idea to also export the .ACD file to .L5K type and back, and then add the modules back.
good luck with it ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp - Retired | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 10:38 AM   #8
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCalderwood View Post
Did you go straight from V20.1 to V24?

V20.1 had compatibility issues with V20.3, so V20.4 was brought out.

I would uninstall V24, then install V20.4 (download from Rockwell) and then re-install V24. That may fix it...........

I know that V20 is still RSLogix5000 and V24 is Studio5000, but essentially is the same program.
I installed V24 first. I only used V20 in order to open my old program. I no longer have any need for V20. I already uninstalled then reinstalled Studio5000 V24 for like 4 times already and the module profile is still incomplete. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 10:52 AM   #9
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Beaufort View Post
another straw at which to grasp ...

this is a minor excerpt from Knowledgebase Article 32507 ... I found this reference by searching for Error 8609-0 (see the popup on your posted screen shot) ...



good luck with it ...
Good day mr. Ron,

My problem lies with the addition of "module profile". Even when I create a new project, upon adding a module, several modules like 1756-EN2T are already missing. I've tried to download and install AOP for EN2T but still doesn't work. I think the problem roots within the "registry". Thank you very much.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 01:57 PM   #10
jeffsnyder
Member
United States

jeffsnyder is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCalderwood View Post
Did you go straight from V20.1 to V24?

V20.1 had compatibility issues with V20.3, so V20.4 was brought out.

I would uninstall V24, then install V20.4 (download from Rockwell) and then re-install V24. That may fix it...........

I know that V20 is still RSLogix5000 and V24 is Studio5000, but essentially is the same program.
There isn't an order that Logix5000 installations have to be installed.

I honestly believe that the EN2T AOP still isn't installed despite the OP's insistance that it is. I'd uninstall it (assuming it is) and reinstall it.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 06:21 PM   #11
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,934
Let's begin by checking whether the necessary AOP files are installed, or not.

Depending on x86 or x64 OS, go to...

x86: C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSLogix 5000\Module Profiles\

...or...

x64: C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockwell Software\RSLogix 5000\Module Profiles\

...and look for the folder...

RA 1756 Ethernet

Here you should see certain XML files for some of the 1756 Ethernet modules.

Incidentally, you should also see a folder at the same path...

C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSLogix 5000\Module Profiles\

...named...

RA 1756 ENet Comms

Here you should see certain XML files for some of the other 1756 Ethernet modules.

RSLogix 5000 / Logix Designer (Studio 5000) both use the parameters within these XML files to configure Ethernet Module Profile instances.

If both those folders are present then please list their contents (file names) or provide screenshots.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".

Last edited by Geospark; May 30th, 2016 at 06:26 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 06:29 PM   #12
Kev77
Member
United States

Kev77 is offline
 
Kev77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaverton, Or
Posts: 406
I had the same thing happened to my coworkers laptop. I tried installing the AOP several times with no success.what seems to have caused him all the issues was when he was installing the software, he unchecked some of the install options under module profiles. The only way we got it to work was to wipe the hard drive and start over. He told me he didn't want to install all the extra "junk".
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2016, 06:31 PM   #13
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev77
...The only way we got it to work was to wipe the hard drive and start over...
Hi,

Let's not get ahead of ourselves. It may or it may not come to that. But there are other things to check before "pulling the pin" here.

G.
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2016, 03:40 AM   #14
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark View Post
Let's begin by checking whether the necessary AOP files are installed, or not.

Depending on x86 or x64 OS, go to...

x86: C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSLogix 5000\Module Profiles\

...or...

x64: C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockwell Software\RSLogix 5000\Module Profiles\

...and look for the folder...

RA 1756 Ethernet

Here you should see certain XML files for some of the 1756 Ethernet modules.

Incidentally, you should also see a folder at the same path...

C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSLogix 5000\Module Profiles\

...named...

RA 1756 ENet Comms

Here you should see certain XML files for some of the other 1756 Ethernet modules.

RSLogix 5000 / Logix Designer (Studio 5000) both use the parameters within these XML files to configure Ethernet Module Profile instances.

If both those folders are present then please list their contents (file names) or provide screenshots.

Regards,
George
Good day George,

None of the folders that you mentioned exists in the "Module Profiles" folder(see image "moduleprof"). I attempted to install AOP for Ethernet (images moduleprof2 to moduleprof4)but still failed to add 1756-EN2T on my module profile list.

Thanks,
Andrei K.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg moduleprof.jpg (13.3 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg moduleprof2.jpg (55.5 KB, 50 views)
File Type: png moduleprof3.png (25.6 KB, 38 views)
File Type: png moduleprof4.png (23.7 KB, 43 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2016, 03:47 AM   #15
Popo Karimu
Member
Philippines

Popo Karimu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bataan
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev77 View Post
I had the same thing happened to my coworkers laptop. I tried installing the AOP several times with no success.what seems to have caused him all the issues was when he was installing the software, he unchecked some of the install options under module profiles. The only way we got it to work was to wipe the hard drive and start over. He told me he didn't want to install all the extra "junk".
That's strange! Upon installation of RSLogix, I never encountered a check/uncheck option for module profiles. However, before installation of RSLogix, there indicates a message "Initializing Module Profiles..." (see image attached).

Thanks,
Andrei K.
Attached Images
File Type: png init_modprof.png (71.6 KB, 265 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logix Designer Structured Text help ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 April 25th, 2016 07:27 PM
Studio 5000 logix Designer CliveBaker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 11th, 2016 03:31 PM
plc5 with AB 1771-DB basic module, its urgent plz help me nileshsurya LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 20th, 2005 02:45 AM
Philosophy of Equipment Error Recovery, Alarm recovery, and Re-initialization Hester LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 11th, 2004 08:40 PM
SLC 5/03 data loss andydaoust LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2002 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


.