You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old May 5th, 2003, 01:28 PM   #1
RTproject
Canada

Thumbs down STUDENT needs help on OMRON PLC

I'm a student who is looking for a bit of help on the OMRON SYSMAC CPM1 PLC. The unit is +24 V, 6 input, 4 output. I am using the CPM1-CIF01 interface unit to convert to RS-232 standard to link to the computer.

Ok.... now for my problem....

I created a simple program in the Omron CX-programmer software just make sure my I/O's were working properly (basically making sure I can talk with the plc). At first I accomplished this with ease, the PWR, RUN, and COMM lights all illuminated when talking with the plc. I was "playing" around with the software and the next thing I know, I can no longer communicate with the plc. So I called up the CX-programmer network tool to relocate the plc connected to the computer, and it was unable to find it. I tripple checked all my settings for PC and PLC (baud rate, parity etc.... and they all check out to be the same ). Thinking that it may be a software glitch, I restarted the computer, reinstalled the software, and powered down the plc to start the whole process over again.... but no luck. I even went to the extent of checking fusing, continuity of the cable, and making sure no other device on the PC took control of the CommPort the plc was using.

If anyone has experienced similar problems, or can give some useful help, please do! Sorry for the lengthy explanation.....

I can also be reached at traymack@rrc.mb.ca (my temporary school email address)

Thanks to all who reply back!

Trev.