Student needs help

FrostedFlake

First off, I'm glad to see something like this up for PLC users. Second, i have a problem.

I am a student attending a Vocational School In Massachusetts, Old Colony RVTHS. I'm in the Electronics Shop, and we're doing a project.

The Project is a Rube Goldberg device, a series of chain reactions leading to a final goal. We've made it so that the goal in to start up a PLC. That's where we have a problem.

The PLC is supposed to light up a sign that says "BREAKFAST!"
that we made using LEDs and Perf-Board. We have the LED sign working well, but the program for the PLC is messed up somewhere...

We don't know how the outputs work on it. The Program lights up each of the five sections of the Sign, then turns off, then repeats the pattern over a period of 12 seconds.

For some reason, however, the outputs do not turn on. There's nothing coming out of the outputds at all. We have the program running, but there simply isn't anything coming out of the outputs. I don't know if you actually have to bring power to the ouputs because they work like switches, or something else, but I'm utterly lost here.

The PLC is a Mitsubishi MELSEC FXon-024 MT-DSS Transistor Unit. Any help would gladly be appreciated.

Well, I AM Powering the PLC with 24VDC, like it needs, but does tham mean I need to apply power to the outputs? If so, does that mean they act like switches?

As steve bailey mentioned, you can try to suply aditional power for the LED. Usually, the output is not powerful enough to light a indicator, in that case, I use a real relay.
Hope can help.

FrostedFlake said:
Well, I AM Powering the PLC with 24VDC, like it needs, but does tham mean I need to apply power to the outputs? If so, does that mean they act like switches?
Yes, I think the DO output is just like a switch.

I agree with Steve...

Also, I do have some general suggestions for project implementation in the future: