You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old December 11th, 2017, 03:15 PM   #1
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ethernet/IP Control of SMC Flex Soft Starter

Hi Everyone,
Looking for a "Sanity Check" on my programming for Starting and Stopping a pump connected to a SMC-3 Flex Soft Starter via Ethernet/IP. I have never used EIP with a Flex before so I want to make sure I am on the right track.

I am basically using the same logic that I use with a Powerflex VFD. I set the Start Bit until the Running Bit is true. Then I set the Stop Bit until the Stopping Bit is true. I have 2 diffrent devices that can request the pump to run so I have the Start Request's OR'd together and the Stop Request AND'd together.

Give me your thoughts on this.
Thanks!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SMC Pump Start_Stop.jpg (14.7 KB, 43 views)
Old December 11th, 2017, 06:06 PM   #2
jraef
United States

SMC-3 is one version of a Rockwell soft starter, SMC-Flex is a different version. There is no SMC-3 Flex...

Given that the SMC-3 is not digital and cannot therefore have an Ethernet interface, I suspect you have an SMC-Flex. If that's the case, I see nothing wrong with your logic, but I can't really read it all that well.
Old December 11th, 2017, 09:00 PM   #3
Bullzi
United States

Yes it is a SMC-Flex. I must have looked at the Spec Sheet from the vendor wrong to get the SMC-3. The 3 is the position of the soft starter.

How can I get the Snip to post with a better resolution? It is hard to read this way.
Old December 11th, 2017, 10:19 PM   #4
OkiePC
United States