You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 24th, 2008, 07:42 AM   #1
killabeg
Member
Ireland

killabeg is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naas
Posts: 2
Question RSLogix Emulator And Wonderware

Hi there all,

First time user, and hopefully a sucessful one

I'm trying to setup communications between Intouch9.5 and RSLogix Emulator using an I/O Server which does not required placeholders in the tag database. the live plant will use a DAServer to the PLC which doesn't require placeholders. So to emulate the plant I need an equivalent I/O Server. I understand that wwRSLinx can be used with RSEmulate5, but I can't see any way that it will work with RSEmulate5000.

If any ideas, much appreciated.
Thanks,
killabeg
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 11:15 AM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 11,109
I expect that you would need to use RSLinx Classic OEM, which has a "Virtual Backplane" driver that it uses to connect to the RSEmulate 5000 and SoftLogix 5800 controllers.

I have done this many times with RSView32 and RSView ME, but of course not with InTouch.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 11:20 AM   #3
OZEE
Member
United States

OZEE is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,695
I've successfully used RSLogix OEM with InTouch, but have never been able to make the DAServer work that way...
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 02:06 PM   #4
MorphuisOGrady
Member
Sweden

MorphuisOGrady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Soderhamn
Posts: 467
Welcome Killabeg my fellow Irish man!

You should have no problems in connecting InTouch to RSEmuluate5000 using the RSLinx OPC server. I have had no problems doing this with WinCC, RSView and i think iFIX too (RSEmulate V16) so it should work for InTouch.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2008, 07:08 AM   #5
killabeg
Member
Ireland

killabeg is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naas
Posts: 2
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the replies. Unfortunately its not at the RSLinx end that I have the issue. The problem is that the DAServer removes the need for placeholders in the Intouch Tag Database. If I revert to using OPCLink I/O Server then I have to dump the Intouch tag database, re-address all tags with the relevant placeholders and then reimport. Also the InBatch system requires the same. And then any redirecting of tag addresses in scripts. So there are a number of changes that have to be made, which is not ideal. So if I can get a substitute I/O server that doesn't require placeholders, and that works with RSEmulate5000, then my problem is solved. After talking to Pantek support they tell me that they have no such I/O server available. Maybe there is some third party product out there that some one has used???

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


.