You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 28th, 2009, 12:01 PM   #1
braga
Member
Portugal

braga is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: braga
Posts: 11
Omron CPM1A + Server lite + V.Basic 2008

hi all,

I'm trying to develop a GUI in V. basic 2008 to write values in memory adresses of an OMRON CPM1A-40 PLC. I'm using cx-programmer for ladder program and cx-server lite to allow V. basic to communicate with the plc using omron communication control .ocx. Also have configured the .ocx with a .cdm file created by cx-server.

Using Win XP SP3, Cx-programmer, Cx-server lite
Hardware- CPM1A-40
Communications- PC->USB->USB to RS232 Converter cable-> Cif- PLC

Note that communication between PLC and CX-programmer is ok
But within V. Basic it doesnt seem to communicate at all, and if it does it canīt set or get any data in/from PLC.

I wonder if anyone has done something similar that wouldn't mind helping.

Any suggestions are welcome

Best Regards,
Paulo Martins
  Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 04:41 PM   #2
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,672
Have a search @ www.mrplc.com in the download code section. There are some good notes there regarding Omron PLCs.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 08:01 AM   #3
braga
Member
Portugal

braga is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: braga
Posts: 11
hi,

Thanks for the quick reply. I'll see to that.
My code was based in the cx-server lite manual examples and i get no errors in vbasic. However i cant get or set any data.
The only thing i dont understand very well is the device points ( i dont know if you know what i'm talking about), maybe the points i added are not correct.
I'm lost here.
Anyway i'll see the code download section as u suggest. thanks


Best regards,
Paulo Martins
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 08:17 AM   #4
ATU
Member
United States

ATU is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 231
How old is the OCX ? Is it certified to work with your version of VB?

Last edited by ATU; March 1st, 2009 at 08:20 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 09:03 AM   #5
braga
Member
Portugal

braga is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: braga
Posts: 11
hi,

That's a good question...I'm trying to findout if it is certified to work with vb 2008.
I'm not sure if the ocx is installed with cx-programmer or with cx-server lite. I think it's with cx-server, and my version is 1.1.

Also i read a "cx-server runtime user manual.pdf" manual that as an appendice to show network Availability for several plc models/devices and it states that cpm1a-10, cpm1a-20 and cpm1a-30 support sysmacway and toolbus but it has no reference to the device i'm using that is cpm1a-40. wich is strange.

I did something similar 3 years ago and i was using only cx-programmer and VB6 wiht a cj1m plc and it was pretty much simple. in my opinion things are much more complex now, with more aplications involved and more chnces something goes wrong.

Thanks for your help.

Best regards
Paulo Martins
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 02:06 PM   #6
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,672
That is a very old version of CX-Server - the latest version is 4.1 and comes with CX-One.
The documentation you have is also old and probably written before the CPM1A 40 was released. It is basically the same as the others only with more I/O. There should be no difference with your addressing except for the numbers of the I/O.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 02:18 PM   #7
ATU
Member
United States

ATU is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 231
I do believe there are big difference in the way COM ports are handled in VBx.net and the way they were done with VB6.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 02:22 PM   #8
braga
Member
Portugal

braga is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: braga
Posts: 11
hi bobb,

My mistake, my cx-server version comes with cx-one like u said, when i said that my cx-servr version was 1.1 i meant cx-server lite version, i didn't express myself well.

I downloaded a zip file with code and an aplication like you recommended me earlier, i could not open the project because it's in vb6 i just had a look in wordpad tio the code, i'l try the .exe tomorrow, because i dont have the plc with me at the momment, and give some feedback.

Regarding the documentation being old and that the only diference is the IO i think and expect u are right.

best regards
Paulo Martins
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 02:27 PM   #9
braga
Member
Portugal

braga is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: braga
Posts: 11
I cant remember how i've done in VB6, but i agree with you its definitely different, i didn't have any trouble then.

And i couldn't even findout if this ocx is certified, but i read in some forum a guy asking if it was with vb 2005 but there were no answers.

thanks for the time.

best regards
Paulo m.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 12:32 PM   #10
braga
Member
Portugal

braga is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: braga
Posts: 11
hi all,

thanks for the great help. I' ve tried today and communication problems were solved - I didn't have much time available to use the plc but i could write to the DM area and also read.

I believe the problem was in the points i added to the device in the .cdm file that is requiered by the communication control.ocx.

I'll do more tests tomorrow and i'll be happy to sahre my project with anyone in order give something back to the community.

At the moment i'm thinking in two things:

The best way to control outputs from v.basic with buttons
Should i do it in a direct way or write values to any refgister DM for instance have them compared with a pre-determined value and if equal power on an output or other?

Suggestions are welcome.

the other thing is- i downloaded cx-server lite DEMO from plctalk but it has a popup message saying that it will only work for an hour but it seems to be working until now and much more than an hour has passed. Or is it an hour freezing period after wich it starts working again...?!

Best regards,
Paulo Martins
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
omron cpm1a fuzzbal LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 21st, 2007 07:29 PM
Omron CPM1a via modem PeterRichter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 17th, 2005 11:28 PM
Omron Cpm1a -hsc Dariusch LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 19th, 2005 06:41 AM
Omron CPM1A PLC - Data Logging fez LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 11th, 2004 12:10 AM
Omron CPM1A 30DR - Oscillator Circuit kaminari LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 1st, 2003 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


.