You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old December 10th, 2009, 05:34 PM   #1
tpankratz
United States

Cutler Hammer D50 for learning

Hello all,

First time posting here. I am new to the PLC world and just know some very basics, but I would really like to learn more. The company I started working for has a bunch of PLC controled machines around and no one to troubleshoot our program without seeking outside assistance. A bunch of the machines are old Cutler Hammer D50s and a few newer Siemens S7-200s.

We have a handful of the D50 plcs laying around and I was wondering if they would be a good place to start learning? I realize that they are old but I think we actually have some programming software around for them. Should I try to do some project with one of them or should I try and find a newer PLC to learn on?

Also, does anyone know of any good beginner projects that I could do? Or would you recommend taking a course for learning? I already bought the PLC tutor book off of this site but I have a hard time just reading a book and learning, I need to do something hands on for it to really sink in. Suggestions?
Old December 10th, 2009, 09:17 PM   #2
jrwb4gbm
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States