You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 21st, 2011, 11:49 AM   #1
MFalenski
Member
United States

MFalenski is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 1
Connecting to a PLC-5/10

Hi,
I must admit I have limited knowledge of PLCs and their communictaion protocols. I am looking for some help on connecting to two PCL-5/10 units. We seem to have misplaced our DH+ card & cable so our HQ sent us a 1784-PCMK A card, but no cable. We also have a 1784-PCD C card. I am assuming that if we get the correct cable we could use the 1784-PCMK A card to connect to the PLC-5/10? I am also assuming that we can't use the 1784-PCD C card for this? We have all the software, just no way to connect to these directly.

Thanks in advance,
Matt
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2011, 12:31 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,497
You are correct about the 1784-PCD card; it is only for DeviceNet.

The 1784-PCMK Series A card requires a 1784-PCM5 Series A cable to connect to the PLC-5/10 (this is a "Classic" PLC-5).

PCMK Series A cards require Series A cables; the wide, flat connector is different from the Series B cables.

The 1784-PCM5 has a "DB9" style connector that looks like an RS-232 serial port but is actually Data Highway Plus on a "Peer Communication Link" (PCL) connector, which is what the connector on the PLC-5/10, 5/12, 5/15, 5/25 controllers is for.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting to subunits on a siemens S5 PLC yogiontour LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 15th, 2011 03:17 AM
Problem with connecting s7 319 PLC and PC station b00c LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 12th, 2009 11:17 AM
connecting a directional valve to PLC muzikant5 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 April 14th, 2009 09:51 AM
Cannot Communicate with PLC Error while connecting to FX2-48MT pdk153 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 30th, 2008 03:43 AM
Connecting S7 200 PLC with PC Unregistered LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 12th, 2005 01:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


.