You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 22nd, 2012, 11:22 AM   #1
electro89
Member
Canada

electro89 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 64
Codesys/Wago - Retain/ Persistent Variables

A couple questions regarding retentive and persistent variables in Codesys v2.3 using the wago 750-841. Cannot seem to find any information in the manual or online.

When I declare var_global retain persistent and give it a preset value like :=4, and I change it in online mode, the value is saved when I'm logged in but not when i'm logged out.
Also, if I were to change the value offline, it will still show me the value that was changed online.

Where is this data stored in the plc and is there a way to access it through codesys? I need someone to explain how the whole retentive memory thing works.

thanks
Martino
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 01:57 PM   #2
(8{)} ( .)
Lifetime Supporting Member
Israel

(8{)} ( .) is offline
 
(8{)} ( .)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 409
Persistent variables don't retain their value when you reset the controller. You need to use RETAIN.

Good luck,

(8{)} (: .)
(Yosi)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 01:59 PM   #3
electro89
Member
Canada

electro89 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 64
but they will if i use both wouldnt they?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2012, 12:57 PM   #4
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 1,701
persistent variables are rest when resetting the PLC and retain stay old value.
when cold resetting the retains are reset, and the persistent are not touched (like an hour meter when downloading new software (however the persistents will reset if you do a reset.
if you do a reset original all is reset.
see page 4-71 for this.
.
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beckhoff losing persistent data values twu026 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 December 2nd, 2013 06:43 AM
WinCC Flexible and refreshing the values of variables Iner LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 20th, 2010 04:39 AM
Accessing PLC Variables from WinCC V6.0 RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 8th, 2008 06:07 AM
Help with iFix Variables. RPax LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 13th, 2006 11:17 AM
S7 - Archiving variables in ProTool Pro RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 15th, 2005 06:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


.