You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 12th, 2012, 07:41 AM   #1
tjntjntjn
Member
United States

tjntjntjn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Error 75 on PowerFlex 70

I'm new on this forum and this is my first thread.
I have five powerflex 70's on the network connected to the DeviceNet scanner module 1747 SDN. The third powerflex 70 shows up an error 75 - Port 5 Adapter.
After i reset the error the powerflex runs for a while and than it happens again. Sometimes it happens to 2nd, 4th and 5th powerflex, but mostly errors shows up on the 3rd one. It has never happened to the first powerflex. The communication card on each powerflex is 20-COMM-D.
What causes that problem? I don't want to upgrade any firmware and/or start replacing anything, unless it is realy neccessary.
Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 08:53 AM   #2
RDS
Member
United States

RDS is offline
 
RDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 131
I've had this happen on an installation of 8 PF700's on Devicenet. I finally tracked it down to a faulty connector on the cable connecting the HIM. Seems that Port 5 is what the HIM was using and an intermittent connection caused the error.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 09:27 AM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,905
There was a firmware issue with the PowerFlex 70 that we ran into, but the error code was 85 in our case.:
https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....ail/a_id/32247

Also, what is the condition of the devicenet cabling? Are you getting enough power to all the nodes? I have seen another similar problem with a connection causing the 24vdc to drop to 18 volts which still worked, but would occasionally result in faults.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 09:45 AM   #4
tjntjntjn
Member
United States

tjntjntjn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 22
I checked all cables and connectors and they looked ok.
I'll check that voltage when I have a chance.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 10:22 AM   #5
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,805
Visual inspection won't cut it when you're looking for an electrical noise or intermittent connection. You need a specialized tool like the Woodhead DeviceNet NetMeter.

Error code 75 is a clear indicator of a DeviceNet network-side problem. From your description of faults from many of the nodes, it's probably a trunk connection, a loose termination resistor, or a power supply problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 11:41 AM   #6
tjntjntjn
Member
United States

tjntjntjn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 22
You're right Ken Roach, but unfortunately I don't have that tool.
Right now, during the week I can't do anything. I'll check the power supply and everything what I can on Friday or Saturday.
Does anybody know if there is company in NJ, which rents tools like DeviceNet NetMeter?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: PowerFlex 70 Torque Variation kamenges LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 April 9th, 2010 01:13 PM
Configuring and controlling a PowerFlex 70. pranesh3994 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 17th, 2010 09:07 PM
powerflex 70 connections/parameters hounddog LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 18th, 2008 01:25 PM
ScanPro to Powerflex 70 kedens@cornerstone LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 4th, 2007 04:05 PM
PowerFlex 40 vs. 70 infineum LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 20th, 2006 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


.