You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 20th, 2004, 01:26 PM   #1
Peter Nachtwey
Member
United States

Peter Nachtwey is offline
 
Peter Nachtwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA, UMSA, United Marxist States of America
Posts: 5,758
Mitsubishi CC-Link

I just got visited by the CLPA ( CC_LINK Partner's Association ).
Obviously they were trying to get us to support CC-Link with our products. I want to get opinions about CC-LINK, the more the better.

Just in case the poll options don't work, I would like to know:
1. If you are a Mitsubishi users.
2. Have you used CC-Link
3. Have you done motion control
4. Have you used CC-Link to communicate with the motion controllers.
5. Is CC-Link easy to use?
6. Would you rather use Ethernet?

CC-Link looks like it would be simple enough to implement. I just wonder if it is suitable for motion control. Sending a command with position, speed, accelreation and deceleration would require a couple of stations and the parameters would need to be transfered using the transient messages.

Any thoughts?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2004, 03:30 PM   #2
panic mode
Member
Canada

panic mode is offline
 
panic mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,961
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Yes
4. Not yet (but it looks like I might very soon... )
5. Yes (* - when planed well)
6. Yes

(*)
a) Manual sucks. Just half a page in decent english would be
way better. My local (Toronto) distributors and Mitsubishi
Tech Support were not (are not) helpful. Only guys who
ever managed to answer any question are from Tech Support
in Chicago.
b) Pass through connection doesn't work 100% with everything
unless master and slaves are same family (it does work
for PLCs to exchange data but Mitsubishi's own ActiveX
doesn't work very well).
c) Very limiting mapping scheme. On one project I was forced
to connect couple of existing systems which were done by
different vernors. I couln't make it work until each PLC
had same amount of free devices (ok) in same range
(what the hell!? ).
Problem was that two machines had their memory use pretty much
maxed out. Free range on one of them was around D1000
(with total of some 2000 D-words), while the other had
everything pretty much used up until D20000.
Maybe there is a way to it, but I didn't have time to
investigate too much. It was faster to remap some of the
used devices in one of the machines.
Also I've found some discrepancies with the manual.
(well, manual sucks anyway... )


btw. what are your products?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2004, 04:48 PM   #3
Peter Nachtwey
Member
United States

Peter Nachtwey is offline
 
Peter Nachtwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA, UMSA, United Marxist States of America
Posts: 5,758
I thought everyone knew.

Quote:
Originally posted by panic mode
btw. what are your products?
I haven't advertised it because Phil frowns on that.

We make motion controllers that fit in PLCs or communicate over a field buses such as Ethernet, Modbus Plus, Profibus DP and RS485 etc.
To be succussful as a third party supplier one must be as compatible with other products as possible. That is why I am interested in CC-Link, but I would much rather be able to communicate with the Q series using Ethernet. Unforutunately, Mitsubishi has kept their Ethernet protocol proprietory.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2004, 05:38 AM   #4
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,563
Talking

I have use CC Link several times. The biggest problem I have had is failure of the CC Link master module in the PLC to communicate with the remote devices. 2 CC Link masters in the rack. One stops communicating with the remotes. Swap the masters over and all is well. Very puzzeling. Our local Mitso distributor at a loss. I might add that they are very good but could not solve that one. Some time later loss of communications again. Swapped the CC Link masters and all was well again. Bit of a worry. Would rather use Device Net. Do not like Ethernet but would probably be OK for this application.
beerchug
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi FX2N RS485 Link with Intouch Wonderware Steve Cheung LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 25th, 2008 04:32 AM
mitsubishi trivia Goody LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 1st, 2004 02:45 PM
PLC Student - Mitsubishi. henryhughes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 5th, 2004 03:18 PM
Profibus to CC Link Guest LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 6th, 2004 11:13 PM
Mitsubishi Sucks... Eric Nelson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 June 7th, 2002 02:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


.