You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 13th, 2002, 02:00 PM   #1
dollivier
Member
United States

dollivier is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
Din Rail Mount Toggle Switch

Does anyone know of a manufacturer that makes a DIN rail mount toggle switch? We need to provide a simple digital input that we want to keep inside the panel (away from happy fingers) and a DIN mount would be ideal for ease of installation.

Dennis
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2002, 02:36 PM   #2
Greg Gauper
Member
United States

Greg Gauper is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hubertus, Wisconsin
Posts: 89
No, but you might be able to build something using a Universal 'empty' module from Phoenix Contact. They make empty module housings that are DIN rail mounted. I think the model series is 'UEGM'. Try Weidmuller as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2002, 03:42 PM   #3
rsdoran
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rsdoran is offline
 
rsdoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 7,372
http://www.wielandinc.com/cat_5/toggle.htm


You didnt mention what kind of toggle and if I may ask why would you need this?
__________________
http://www.patchn.com Industrial Electrical & Maintenance @ www.patchn.com "Tell me and I forget, show me and I remember, involve me and I understand."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2002, 04:03 PM   #4
ROBO
Member
United States

ROBO is offline
 
ROBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 23
Allen-Bradely is the manufacturer. I oredered it from McMaster-Carr. Its good for 28VDC/2A or 120VAC/2A. The one I ordered is a on-off-on SPDT. McMaster-Carr part number is 7218K11. Cost is $23.37. Allen-Bradely part number is 1492-WD4P.
__________________
"I think it plugs in here."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2002, 04:06 PM   #5
ROBO
Member
United States

ROBO is offline
 
ROBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 23
Correction: McMaster-Carr number is 7218K13 not K11.
__________________
"I think it plugs in here."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2002, 05:17 PM   #6
dollivier
Member
United States

dollivier is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
DIN Toggle Switch

The reason for the toggle: We have 2 available Modbus ports on the PLC. One is used to communicate via radio-modem to a SCADA computer running Wonderware. The other is used to communicate to a VFD to transfer a number of parameters / values to and from the PLC. To modify/troubleshoot using a laptop requires disconnecting the VFD communications. Since the PLC acts as the Modbus Master to the VFD and needs to be a Modbus Slave to the Laptop we will use the toggle switch to disable the transmit functions from the PLC when we must communicate with the laptop. A third Modbus port would be a great solution but this PLC, a Momentum, will not support a third Modbus port, per the factory tech support.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2002, 05:53 PM   #7
Terry Woods
Member
United States

Terry Woods is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,170
Ron,

As to what someone might need this for... see the tail-end of this thread...

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...=&threadid=800
  Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2002, 06:23 PM   #8
Manuel Raposo
Member
Portugal

Manuel Raposo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aveiro
Posts: 11
MURR Elektronic (Germany) has din rail modules with a relay and a switch which allowd us to select switch operation or relay operation.
__________________
Manuel Raposo
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not PLC Related... DIN Rail Mount PushButton K.C. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 October 23rd, 2007 08:13 PM
din mount UPS? g.robert LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 8th, 2004 12:38 PM
DIN Rail positioning godfrey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 June 19th, 2004 09:26 PM
Toggle switch & Push button switch m_abd_el_khalik LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 2nd, 2003 09:51 AM
Toggle Switch askgaard LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 3rd, 2003 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


.